Caramelized Red Bell Peppers and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I usually don't care for bell peppers, never buy them. Mother sent me home with some after a day of canning, so I had to use them. I used this recipe as a guide for a great suprise! First I roasted the peppers on a foil covered cookie sheet at 450 for 30 min until the skins were blackened. I peeled and sliced them into long strips 1/2 inch thick. Using only Olive Oil I sauted my white onion untill slmost see through, then added the peppers, seasonings and some garlic powder. I decided to toss in a few diced mushrooms, and a roma sliced lengthwise as well. I sauted for about 10 min and it was perfect! I was going to take this with me to Thanksgiving, however I worry there wont be enough for everyone, as good as it is I had better leave it here for myself :) later I will slice and saute some steak strips and make a fajita! I have never thought peppers could taste so good. I never stick to the recipe and this time I am glad jumped! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
Hubby and I thoroughly enjoyed this. I used white wine bc that's all I had. I allowed the peppers and onions to cook until very very carmelized. They were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2011
Loved this. Used a red and green pepper and vidalia onion w/ the red wine. Will definitely make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
WOW! I can't believe how good this was! I don't even like bell peppers, but I had to do something with some soon-to-be-ruined peppers that were in the fridge. From now on, I'll stock up on peppers just for this dish. I made it as written except I used a mix of red and green peppers, yellow onions instead of red onions and I forgot to add basil. If you don't add the red wine, I think you still need to cook them for an extra 30 minutes to get the caramelized effect (maybe in chicken broth, balsamic vinegar, or even water??) I wouldn't skip the extra 30 minutes' cooking time, as I think that's what makes this so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wickes, Arkansas, USA
Living In: South Orange, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Next time, prepare with more peppers, fewer onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Delicious and so easy! I make this every few weeks and love how versatile it is. It goes well as a side dish to meat or as a topping for various gourmet ravioli. I usually add a few minced garlic cloves and so far have only used basil; although I can see that various spices would also work well depending on what else will be served. I leave out the salt due to my husband's high blood pressure and it doesn't seem to effect the flavor. It's delicious made with the red wine as per the recipe, and also excellent with a few dashes of good balsamic vinegar added. My husband comments how good it is each time I serve it. Thank you Crow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Simply delicious! This is so easy to make and it always turns out good. I use a combination of red and green peppers, red and vidalia onion for color and flavor but not matter what you use or your preference you're bound to have a great outcome. I also use the optional wine - red or white whatever I have on hand and I never have any shortage of that! The herbs always give it a nice touch whether you use fresh or dried but just a bit so as to not overpower the veggies. This was perfect with grilled Italian sausage and crusty rolls for a quick and easy dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
118 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Dmseck
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Very good flavor! I absolutely LOVE peppers and onions. Caramelizing with wine was good, and I used chopped FRESH basil, which is what makes this POP, I believe. Will surely make this again -- thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dmseck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rialto, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
Tasty side dish and a good way to get some veggies in without a lot of fuss. I have to confess that I used all butter because lately, I've just been on a butter kick, but next time I will do it exactly as written. Also, I didn't have any red wine at home, but I'm pretty sure that would take the recipe up a notch. I feel bad reviewing it and only giving 3 starts since I didn't follow as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by abapplez
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2010
Love this quick, easy and tasty side! We used red, yellow and orange peppers and vidalia onion and skipped the wine. This will be perfect with so many main dishes and we will absolutely make it often. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abapplez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

All About Bell Peppers

Enjoy colorful sweet peppers cooked or raw.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States