Caramelized Red Bell Peppers and Onions Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
My favorite side veggie ... Goes with everything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherry614

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Wonderful use of mini tri-colored bell peppers! I used a mix of balsamic vinegar and red wine vinegar and chicken stock instead of wine. I also added some cherry tomatoes that I had to use up. Served as a side dish with the Honey Brine Fried Chicken Breasts and Cowboy Mashed Potatoes from this site. Hubby could not stop eating until he said," I think I broke my stomach!" Next time I'm going to make these with eggs as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Destin, Florida, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
I don't use wine, but I know that plain peppers are not that well received here, even if I add basil, salt and pepper. So I used 1/8th cup balsamic vinegar and 1/8 cup chicken broth. It was so delicious I ate the leftovers for breakfast the next day. I had leftovers, since I quadrupled the recipe for my big family. You could also use grape juice plus 1 tsp. of vinegar too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I like to get my onions nice and browned and super caramelized...so that's what I did! I cooked them about 45 mins on med-low heat and got perfection :) I served some sunny side up eggs on top... perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2013
I doubled the peppers, added a twig of fresh rosemary, and added a few splashes of good balsamic just a few minutes before turning off the heat. Watch carefully towards the end of cooking, to prevent the veggies from sticking to the pan. The caramelized flavor is wonderful - served with pasta for those who didn't want meat sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2013
Easy, good-tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
I had to use what was on hand (white onion, two orange bell peppers and one yellow), but it turned out great! I don't drink wine, so I did use a splash of the red wine vinegar another reviewer mentioned, and I was out of basil so I used a pinch of Italian seasoning (and left out the salt, as I always do). This was the perfect light dinner after the gym tonight, thanks you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Photo by Renee
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This dish is pretty flavorful. I liked the taste of the red peppers and onions. I also added more basil. Thanks for the nice, healthy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Indiana, USA
Living In: Clarkston, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2012
I added the wine and cooked till evaporated, but it unfortunately overcooked the onion and bell pepper, causing the whole thing to become dark and soggy. 30 minutes seems to be way too long if the vegetables are meant to keep color and stay just a little crisp. Next time I will try only half the amount of vegetables and the the 2-min only saute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aurura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2012
Absolutely fabulous. Didn't change a thing. However, the red wine is mandatory -- not optional. Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KDMEWS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Sausage, Peppers, and Onions

This classic Italian dish makes delicious sandwiches.

All About Bell Peppers

Enjoy colorful sweet peppers cooked or raw.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States