Caramelized Pearl Onions with Balsamic Glaze Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2006
Used fresh pearl onions for this -- at least I think that's what they were. Cheap at produce market, pain to peel for recipe, but all worth it. This recipe is so simple and delish. Made me feel like a pro. Got great reviews. Reminded me of "Drunken Shallots" I had had at a favorite local Italian restaurant (although, I think those used a red wine reduction). Planning on making the full recipe from frozen onions for a camping trip this weekend. Such an easy snack to put out with some white bean spread (also easy and both not bad nutrition-wise). Highly recommend this recipe. Be patient with the reduction. It's worth it to let it get thick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYBEE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Very simple and delicious. I like this better than traditionally caramelized onions because it eliminates the slicing and the stirring (and the tears!). It took an extra 10 minutes in my oven to fully cook. Also, although the balsamic glaze is good, we preferred the onions without it. The glaze masked too much of the onion taste, which we love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
I made this a little differently. After reading other recipes, I sliced up onions and put them in a skillet with the sauce ingredients. When caramelized, I did what they did in the recipe for "Green Beans with Caramelized Onions" and added frozen green beans, that were thawed. Just to make it even better, when serving, I tossed in some cooked bacon pieces. Fantastic !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Just OK for us--the sauce overpowered the mild onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2009
This recipe was great! I added asparagus because it was in a use it or lose it state and it was super yummy! The balsamic glaze is SOOOO easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Good but not as sweet as I remember!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
We loved these! Although I didn't use the glaze ...I made a glazed salmon dish ( Super Grilled Salmon from this site) & used the glaze from it on the onions. It was wonderful! Thansk for another tasty recipe Pam!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I was afraid the balsamic glaze would overpower the onions but that did not happen. In fact, the leftovers are even better the next day because the glaze mellowed out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
texture was not good- very mushy; had to throw it out and start over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lramirez2000

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
We didn't care for it. But will give it one more shot with out the balsalmic eventually when we are feeling brave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

How to Cut Onions

See an easy way to peel and chop onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States