Caramelized Onions on the Grill Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Yummy! Used the George Foreman grill - had w/ burgers tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
I made this at camp this year and I figured, I had time to go for a short bike ride and it would be done by the time I got back, well I came back and there was hardly any left! Next time I will definitely make more then just 1 onion. My family told me that it was starting to smell so good that they couldn't hold back any longer. So delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
Wow this is a hard recipe to screw up, and as a novice griller I am very grateful. This recipe really helped convince my dad to let me work his grill more often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karisma

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Twentynine Palms, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Excellent. Won't make them my boring way, ever again. Thanks for such a simple tasty recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
After all the rave reviews for this recipe, I was super excited to try it out on our new Weber. Very true that it was easy, but the end result was not as good as I was hoping. May have been from our cooking technique, but the onions didn't get carmelized at all (no browning). They were soft and tasted OK, but I wanted some of that grill flavor. Next time will do in more direct heat and probably cut back on the butter, as I think the moisture limited the ability to brown maybe. I've done onions in foil on the grill in the past and just sprayed with a little olive oil and a sprinkle of salt and they turn out good, so maybe I'll do the same, but add the beef boullion for flavor instead of salt next time. Sorry for the bum review, but they just weren't all that great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUSYBEE25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Hands down, the best grilling dish EVER! Even my friends who hate onions will gobble this dish up. Don't change a thing about this recipe, except that if you use a smaller onion, then you may want to halve the bouillon cube and the amt of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
Delicious! Served with grilled steak, but I ate the onions all by themself they were so good. I might try adding fresh mushrooms to it next time. So simple, and so yummy. Also, I used Valida Onions and I think that made a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I first found out about this recipe from Paula Deen's cooking show. I've made it almost every time I grill because they are SO wonderful. It's like having french onion soup but without all the work. Nommy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
Nothing beats these onions. My brother-in-law gave me this recipe with a little different version. I wanted to speed the process up a bit so I cut the cut into wedge but not completely to the bottom, then put in a microwave safe bowl and microwave for about 3 minutes. This starts cooking the onion. I make a "bowl" with foil and transfer (carefully) the onion to foil. Drizzle 2 Tablespoons of olive oil, 1 Tbls of Lemon Pepper, and 1 tbls of minced garlic(from a jar). Then cook in oven or on the grill. The microwave part decreases the cooking time by about 1/2. Enjoy with a good steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2008
I made this recipe along with baked chicken on the grill (from this site). They were both delicious. My picky children loved the onions. I will make these every time I grill and will probably try them in the oven as other reviewers suggested. I saved the leftovers in a zip-lock bag along with the leftover chicken. Heated up together in the microwave the next day. It was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Caramelized Onions

See how to make sweet, beautifully caramelized onions.

How to Grill Corn on the Cob

See an easy way to grill fresh corn on the cob.

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States