Caramelized Onion and Horseradish Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
We loved these potatoes! Beautiful rich color from the caramelized onions and deeply flavored. Definitely worth the extra effort and time it took to caramelize the onions. Just enough horseradish and Dijon to make these interestingly different, although I wouldn't hesitate to add more horseradish. I found I didn't need the extra butter at the end - the butter used to caramelize the onions was enough. It was nice to find a different and delicious spin on mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Fantastic recipe! I added a couple of cloves of fresh roasted garlic, but add garlic to almost everything. I also added in a couple of dashes of white pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
This side dish was great - my family (kids, too!) liked it...a nice flavor with a little tang, but not too much for those who don't like spice. It didn't take too long to make and didn't have any unusual ingredients, that is nice when you have a family and house to keep up while preparing meals. It made a huge heap and we served it with pork tenderloin and steamed broccoli - it was perfect. I'd recommend it - a nice twist on mashed potatoes...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This recipe is fantastic! The only change I made was to substitute the white wine vinegar to half white cooking wine, half cider vinegar, because I didn't have white wine vinegar on hand. For the small amt. required, I doubt it would have made much difference. But the flavor! I had 3 helpings, my boyfriend loved it as well. I know I'll be making this again & again. Thanks for the recipe! ADD-ON So, I made this again, and it was even better this time. I boiled the potatoes with minced garlic, used skim milk instead of half & half, and this time I sauteed chopped cabbage (about 2-3 cups) in bacon grease 'til tender, and added along with the onions. It was very simaler to Irish colcannon and tasted great with the corned beef I prepared. Everyone who loves horseradish and potatoes should try this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I thought this was really delicious. When I went to make it I found I had only 1 rather elderly potato. So I made instant mashed and added the seasonings. It was great and my guest had no idea I hadn't made it from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Yummy side dish! I did have to add more 1/2 & 1/2 to make it creamy enough and also a bunch more horseradish, because we like spicy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
very yummy. i scaled back to 6 servings, and even opted to use 2 sweet vidalia onions over the 3 they suggested. it was plenty!!! also diced for ease of mixing and eating. omitted thyme since i didnt have it. served with flat iron steak w/ blue cheese chive butter (also from site) the first night, and leftovers with a pork tenderlion and mushrooms w/ soy sauce glaze (again from this site lol) everybody raved about these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PICKLES00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Wonderful, wonderful wonderful potatoes. Made these for a dinner party to serve under Beef Burgundy. Simple, easy, tasty, full flavored. I did use Yukon Gold potatoes instead of russets, because that's what I had on hand this time around. Will most definitely make these again. It goes great with beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
Very nice twist on regular mashed potatoes. I omitted the horseradish (I forgot it), and all 5 of us loved it. Would suggest that the onions are cut up more than just 'sliced into rings' because it was somewhat difficult to eat with long rings. Very good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Simply amazing. I would recommend chopping the onions a little smaller otherwise they are too stringy in the mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRIAM001

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States