Caramelized Onion and Horseradish Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2012
Did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I LOVE the zing that horseradish adds to mashed potatoes! My onions always take longer to caramelize (an hour or more, usually), and I don't generally bother with the vinegar, thyme, or mustard. Sometimes I'll even omit the onions -- that's how much I love the kick of the horseradish! Butter and milk/cream to taste to finish. This is an excellent, tweakable recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
These were a nice change from my regular garlic mashed potatoes. I still prefer the garlic but will make these occasionally. They're excellent fried up the next day & smothered with cheddar cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I used red skin potatoes and nearly double the horseradish. The flavor was still quite subtle but very good. We will definitely make these again. I left the onion rings whole and would do so again but without the largest ones. It's a little weird to pull out a forkful of potatoes and have a long string of onion pull out of the "mash" and dangle to your plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is one of my new favorite recipes! Only change was to add more butter, I probably will add a bit more cream next time we make it. Also I agree with the other reviewers that you should chop the onions rather than leave them in rings; that's what we did and it was nice and easy to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Wonderful, wonderful wonderful potatoes. Made these for a dinner party to serve under Beef Burgundy. Simple, easy, tasty, full flavored. I did use Yukon Gold potatoes instead of russets, because that's what I had on hand this time around. Will most definitely make these again. It goes great with beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
These spuds were amazing! I can't wait to make them for company. What a wonderful combination of flavors. Yum, yum, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Loved these potatoes! Didn't have the thyme or the vinegar but these were really yummy! The only problem was that the kids didn't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Great change to regular mashed potatoes! I followed the recipe except I didn't use the thyme(don't like it) or the vinegar (didn't have it). I do try to follow the directions exactly the first time but they were wonderful this way. Will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gretcheepoo
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
These are definitely worth the calories! They were creamy and delicious. I served them with pork chops and then with a Dijon-shallot chicken cutlet. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretcheepoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

Learn how to make red-potato mashers with garlic-flavored spreadable cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States