Caramelized Onion and Horseradish Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 10, 2008
I thought this was really delicious. When I went to make it I found I had only 1 rather elderly potato. So I made instant mashed and added the seasonings. It was great and my guest had no idea I hadn't made it from scratch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2008
This was so decadent. The kids didn't like them but my husband and I fought over the leftovers. Only change I made was adding a couple cloves of minced garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2009
What a great potato to have on the side of BBQ ribs or prime rib! Thanks for the recipe!**Had to update and change to 5 stars. I make this every time I have bratwurst or ribs. Instead of half and half I use sour cream. I also like to use plenty minced garlic:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMary
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2009
Wow! This was fantastic. None of the flavors are overwhelming and they blend well. I added some minced garlic (1-2 tsp) to the onions in the last 5-10min of cooking. Otherwise I followed as written. Very flavorful. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2009
My wife wont stop talking about how good these potatoes were! Making them again this weekend! thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
Fantastic recipe! I added a couple of cloves of fresh roasted garlic, but add garlic to almost everything. I also added in a couple of dashes of white pepper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Chef Esh

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lititz, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This recipe is fantastic! The only change I made was to substitute the white wine vinegar to half white cooking wine, half cider vinegar, because I didn't have white wine vinegar on hand. For the small amt. required, I doubt it would have made much difference. But the flavor! I had 3 helpings, my boyfriend loved it as well. I know I'll be making this again & again. Thanks for the recipe! ADD-ON So, I made this again, and it was even better this time. I boiled the potatoes with minced garlic, used skim milk instead of half & half, and this time I sauteed chopped cabbage (about 2-3 cups) in bacon grease 'til tender, and added along with the onions. It was very simaler to Irish colcannon and tasted great with the corned beef I prepared. Everyone who loves horseradish and potatoes should try this dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
This is the BEST!!! Smashed Potatoes with character! Very nicely flavored! Wouldn't change a thing. Thanks for a great recipie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
Simply amazing. I would recommend chopping the onions a little smaller otherwise they are too stringy in the mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIRIAM001

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2009
Thank you, Thank you, Thank you! You made me the hit of my Christmas Eve dinner. I served this with the Garlic Prime Rib. Everyone raved about the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States