Caramelized Onion and Horseradish Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
This is one of my new favorite recipes! Only change was to add more butter, I probably will add a bit more cream next time we make it. Also I agree with the other reviewers that you should chop the onions rather than leave them in rings; that's what we did and it was nice and easy to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Wonderful, wonderful wonderful potatoes. Made these for a dinner party to serve under Beef Burgundy. Simple, easy, tasty, full flavored. I did use Yukon Gold potatoes instead of russets, because that's what I had on hand this time around. Will most definitely make these again. It goes great with beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
These spuds were amazing! I can't wait to make them for company. What a wonderful combination of flavors. Yum, yum, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2011
Loved these potatoes! Didn't have the thyme or the vinegar but these were really yummy! The only problem was that the kids didn't like them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Great change to regular mashed potatoes! I followed the recipe except I didn't use the thyme(don't like it) or the vinegar (didn't have it). I do try to follow the directions exactly the first time but they were wonderful this way. Will definitely make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aurora, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gretcheepoo
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
These are definitely worth the calories! They were creamy and delicious. I served them with pork chops and then with a Dijon-shallot chicken cutlet. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gretcheepoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hammond, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2010
Delicious mashed potatoes! Next time I have to use real horseradish instead of horseradish sauce(all I had) for a better bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
We loved these potatoes! Beautiful rich color from the caramelized onions and deeply flavored. Definitely worth the extra effort and time it took to caramelize the onions. Just enough horseradish and Dijon to make these interestingly different, although I wouldn't hesitate to add more horseradish. I found I didn't need the extra butter at the end - the butter used to caramelize the onions was enough. It was nice to find a different and delicious spin on mashed potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2010
Not very good at all!!! Will not make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
very yummy. i scaled back to 6 servings, and even opted to use 2 sweet vidalia onions over the 3 they suggested. it was plenty!!! also diced for ease of mixing and eating. omitted thyme since i didnt have it. served with flat iron steak w/ blue cheese chive butter (also from site) the first night, and leftovers with a pork tenderlion and mushrooms w/ soy sauce glaze (again from this site lol) everybody raved about these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PICKLES00

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States