Caramelized Onion and Horseradish Smashed Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2013
I've been using this site for nearly every recipe that I've made for years and I've never left a review, but this was awesome! I made a few changes due to what I had on hand. The only local-grown produce at the farmers' market right now are sweet potatoes and turnips. I've never cooked, or even tried, turnips so I grabbed a couple. I found recipes that boiled them with potatoes and mashed them together, but when it came time to prepare the meal, I was looking for that recipe and this one definitely caught my eye! I love onions with everything! I don't like horseradish or dijon mustard, so I left those out. I don't have white wine vinegar, so i halved some cooking sherry with rice vinegar. I also love sour cream with my mashed potatoes, so I halved that with 2% milk in place of the half & half. I didn't add any butter at the end because I had only sauteed one onion (adding a couple cloves of garlic near the end) with the 3T of butter, so there was plenty when I mixed everything together! The potato to turnip ratio that I used was 2:1, so it was a smaller batch than what this recipe makes. I will definitely make this again, but with more onions next time! Thanks so much for sharing this :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XiolaJane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Galveston, Texas, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
I will def make this again! I added a little handful of crumbled gorganzola to it just because I love cheese in anything! But I did taste it without and they were very good eaither way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tilton, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Sanbornton, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
Seriously delicious. I used apple cider vinegar in place of white wine vinegar, parsley in place of thyme, and sour cream in place of half and half. That's what I had on hand, but in the future, I'll probably make it according to the recipe just to see the difference. I agree with other reviews that the onions could be cut a little smaller. They were a little stringy, but oh so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I didn't love these flavors. I was really confused too, to the onion in the recipe. Is it 4 slices of onions or 4 onions? I assumed it was slices, however mine were fully cooked in like 6-7 minutes so now I don't know. I followed the recipe exactly except I made 1/2 recipe and used milk instead of cream. They taste just like they state as caramelized onion and horseradish. I thought I would really like the combination, but thought the flavor was just okay. It was a bit strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
I really enjoyed these potatoes, but my family didn’t enjoy them as much as I did. I loved the addition of the golden onions and horseradish; I thought it added a lot of flavor to the mashed potatoes. I served these with ‘Slow Cooker Roast Beef’ from AR, and it made for a very nice meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
AWESOME! Made as written and would not change a thing...A definite keeper~YUM! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by sassyoldlady
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
OFF.THE.HOOK. Loved 'em! Hesitant about so much horseradish so I didn't use as much, that was a mistake. Used a small can of evaporated milk in place of the cream. The only thing that would make them better is to have seconds. I did. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sassyoldlady

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
made these for christmas dinner and it was very good! used yukon gold potatoes and turned out fine. i was concerned with horseradish overpowering the taste, so i only put in 1 tbs, but will increase next time. very well received at dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Absolutely loved this recipe! I made exactly as written, the flavors are outstanding. I served this with filet of beef, perfect combination. A familiar side, but the bold, hearty flavors make this a nice updated companion to beef. A keeper and a definite do-over. Thanks for sharing your recipe with AR.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
Great recipe. The caramelized onions take a little longer to cook than listed and I like a lot more horseradish for extra zing! Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Mashed Potatoes

Discover the best way to make light, creamy mashed potatoes.

Almost Fat-Free Green Onion Potato Salad

See how to make a creamy potato salad that’s almost entirely fat-free.

Perfect Mashed Potatoes

Watch a foolproof method for making the ultimate comfort food.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States