Caramelized Onion and Gorgonzola Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
I have had and made a very similar recipe which I like better AND is easier.It uses a Boboli crust,carmelized red onions(I've never needed the sugar),about half the cheese,then is sprinkled with toasted walnuts,drizzled w/olive oil and baked according to the crust instructions.I've never had leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2003
This receipe is awesome! I love the contrast between the flavorful gorgonzola, and sweet carmelized onions! Every time I make it, people rave like you wouldn't believe! No offense to the person who mentioned that they would use a Boboli crust, but yuck! And feta cheese, while delicious, would not be good with carmelized onions, at least in my opinion. I would recommend to anyone who hasn't made this yet, stick to the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2007
This was a real hit with the family. However the second time I made it, it was even better when I reduced the gorgonzola by half and substituted the other half with cheddar and mozzarella. I also brushed the crust with a little olive oil about 5 minutes before taking it out of the oven and kept it under the broiler until the cheese and crust were golden brown.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
Such a wonderful and versatile base recipe to serve as is or customize to your own preferences. Try adding VERY thin sliced pears and coarsley chopped walnuts, or mushrooms and baked garlic to the base recipe for a unique presentation. Definitely a great appetizer for a wine tasting or a backyard bbq! Enjoy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cardamum
Reviewed: May 30, 2006
Spectacular! What a delightful recipe! I used just over a half pound of cheese and still thought it was a little much. I think next time I'll just go with 1/4 lb of cheese. Gargonzola is a strong flavor so I think I can save some calories by decreasing the amount without sacrificing taste. In fact, I bet the delicious onion flavor would shine through even more if there was less cheese. Besides decreasing the cheese, I followed the recipe exactly. It was quite tasty; both my husband and I loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cardamum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2003
This was a hit at a birthday party I threw for a couple of friends. I had never had Gorgonzola cheese but found that I love it! It's a milder type of blue cheese and it went very well with the caramelized onions. It does take a while to caramelize the onions so make sure you start it in plenty of time to pop in the oven when your guests arrive. Also, I made a homemade pizza crust because it's easy and so much better than the refrigerated type.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SundayGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
Wow! This pizza is awesome! I made my own dough, but otherwise stuck to the recipe exactly. The flavors are wonderful together. I'll definetely make this one again. Thanks Jessica!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2007
This was good, but not something I could eat a whole lot of. If I could I'd probably give it more like 3 1/2 stars. I was a little pressed for time today so I bought a pizza dough from the local pizzeria. I carmelized the onions which were wonderful, then I put together the pie. I made 1/2 with just the gorgonzola and onions, (and we liked it this way )but we made the other half as another reviewer suggested with the onions, not as much gorgonzola, some mozzerella and cheddar, we liked it A LOT better this way. It was still very flavorful but not as rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hauppauge, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2003
Wow, that's some tasty pizza. I'd go a bit lighter on the cheese - it overpowered the onions a little - but otherwise it was excellent! This was enough for two 12" pizzas, one batch of pizza dough in the bread maker. Next time I might try adding some thinly sliced pears just for kicks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leslie
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was pretty good. Served it with a green salad. I thought about adding a sauce, thinking the pizza would need it. It doesn't, the gorgonzola becomes like a sauce. Oh, and I only used an 8oz chunk of gorgonzola and it was perfect. I think much more gorgonzola would have been overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Pizza

This easy homemade pizza goes great with a peppery pear salad.

Pear Gorgonzola Pizza

See how to make a delicious pear and cheese pizza with an artisan pizza crust.

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States