Caramelized Onion and Gorgonzola Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 12, 2008
We really enjoyed this. I used a Boboli crust because I needed to make this quickly and it turned out quite nicely, actually. I used less than half the amount of gorgonzola and used mozzarella as a filler cheese. I love blue cheeses, but what I used was more than enough. My young kids made a face at it, but tried it and liked it just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
Followed the recipe exactly. We were not really care for this. I love blue cheese but this was overkill for us. Plus it seemed to be missing something. Maybe some sort of sauce would be better for us. Thanks anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I really liked this recipe. I wasn't sure about it, but I did make some changes. I used Jay's Signature Pizza Crust (from allrecipes.com) instead of frozen dough. I cut down a but on the onions (probably shouldn't have), I used crumbled blue cheese, added sliced greek olives, and used brown sugar instead of white. I loved how the cheese complimented the sweet onions!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I've been wanting to try this for months and finally decided to give it a go tonight. Wow! This is such a wonderful combination of flavors - I agree with others... there's no way you'd end up using a whole pound of gorgonzola. That'd ruin the beauty of this recipe. I think I'll add more onions next time (mine weren't very big) and forego adding the sugar as they're sweet enough on their own. I used a whole wheat pita. I also like the idea of adding sauteed mushrooms and toasted walnuts. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2008
This was wonderful!! I used 8 oz. of gorgonzola and everyone said I should have used half that and it would have been perfect. I substituted the other 8 oz. with a pre-shredded artisan cheese blend (mozerella and provolone) and added sauteed mushrooms (8oz) to the pizza as well. Will definitely make again, using 4 oz. of gorgonzola.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I love gorgonzola and I love caramelized onions and I really wanted to love this... but I only used half the gorgonzola and the cheese was still WAY TOO OVERPOWERING. The first piece was good but by the second it tasted almost bitter (and yes, the cheese was fresh). When I got a bite of pizza crust with just a little cheese and onion it was really delicious though. I'm going to try again with some other reviewer suggestions such as thinning the cheese with mozzarella because I know this could taste good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Osceola, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Delicious and easy dinner! I made my own whole wheat pizza crust, which was a nice complement to the flavors. I doubt I used a whole pound of gorgonzola- I just sprinkled a thin covering on top of the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I have searched long and hard for a great gourmet style pizza. This is a wonderful alternative to the daily grind of classic reds. I am a big fan of white pizza. I’ve tried ye old classic whites which are usually a variation of olio de olive, ricotta, and roasted garlic. I served this pizza to my in-laws and they loved it. We just could not stop eating this great culinary delicacy. Everyone needs to try this. The only thing we did different was use mozzarella in place of the gorgonzola, and didn’t not use onions……… Just kidding. We followed the recipe to the T and it was great. We did add a head of roasted garlic to the crust prior to adding the toppings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mollylukedds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Very yummy, although I don't think I added a full pound of cheese. Will try walnuts on them next time and use a home made crust. Great reviews from the eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Alabama, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
Incredible. I've cooked this so many times and it gets gobbled up by adults and preteens alike. Depending on availability in the grocery store, I substitute gorgonzola with another blue cheese like Roquefort with the same outstanding results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Pizza

This easy homemade pizza goes great with a peppery pear salad.

Pear Gorgonzola Pizza

See how to make a delicious pear and cheese pizza with an artisan pizza crust.

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States