Caramelized Onion and Gorgonzola Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This pizza was okay. The flavors are very strong, so unless you're eating it with something else (which I wasn't) then it may be a little too intense. I may make it again as an appetizer for a party or something, but not as a meal for me and the hubby because I don't think I can handle the strong flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This made a wonderful appetizer. I followed the advice of lots of reviewers and added a layer or mozzarella cheese and only used 1/2 of the recommended Gorgonzola. I liked the mozzarella, but I think I will add all of the Gorgonzola on top of the mozzarella next tiem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Really good, different and E-Z! I used a Whole Wheat Pizza dough from Trader Joes and it was very good. I only used less then half of the amount of gorgonzola cheese called for and we thought that was all it needed. I added a few diced sun dried tomatoes because I had some I wanted to use up and like the addition to the pizza. This would also make a great appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
A great pizza for sure. I prefer a thinner crust so I spread mine a little more thinly. I also dipped this pizza in HONEY!!! It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EBrown1986

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This recipe was delicious with a few modifications: I used about half the gorgonzola cheese (and even that was a bit strong but I guess it depends on your taste) and like some other reviewers suggested combined the gorgonzola with a mix of shredded cheddar and mozzarella. It made it much more delicious and didn't taste like it had cheddar or mozz in it at all - just created a nice background for the gorgonzola. I used store bought whole wheat pizza dough from Trader Joe's and seasoned it with salt, pepper and olive oil before adding the toppings. I used a mandolin to get paper thin, almost shredded, onion slices. This made it more like an onion jam at the bottom. Overall this was delicious - the leftovers made a perfect lunch the next day when heated up in the toaster oven. Would also like to try this as tartlets, perhaps on puff pastry shells for an appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Leslie
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
This was pretty good. Served it with a green salad. I thought about adding a sauce, thinking the pizza would need it. It doesn't, the gorgonzola becomes like a sauce. Oh, and I only used an 8oz chunk of gorgonzola and it was perfect. I think much more gorgonzola would have been overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Sunland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Nice combination of flavors but the cheese was a bit too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Strong cheeses (such as gorgonzola) are an acquired taste for many. You will not like this recipe if you don't care for them. That said, this is probably not something I would make for guests or take to a party just out of fear that too many people would not care for it. I thought this pizza was delicious. I reduced the gorgonzola to 12 oz. and I can't imagine using any more than that. Even at 12 oz. the taste was still pretty overpowering. Next time I make this I will probably use 2 1/2 onions and about 3-4 oz. of gorgonzola cheese. I may even try making this with a different crumbled cheese such as feta (my favorite). I brushed olive oil over the crust, but next time I think I'll brush olive oil over the entire top since the pizza does not call for an actual sauce. I might add some garlic powder as well. I'll top it with the onions, another cheese (probably mozzarella), and I'll use the crumbled cheese sparingly. I used homemade crust (Jay's Signature Pizza Crust from this website) and added extra sugar to the dough to make a sweet crust. I wish I had rolled my edges out a little thicker. Otherwise, this pizza would have been perfect. I can't wait to try it again with the above alterations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dana C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
Awesome! I took the advice of others and put down a layer of mozzarella first and then the onions and topped with the gorgonzola. For the crust I used Trader Joes' Middle Eastern Flatbread and less than the suggested lb of Gorgonzola for 10 flatbreads. I made this for a party last week and again last night and everyone raved about it! Will definitely be making this one again! Thanks, Julie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
Too much butter, and FAR too much Gorgonzola as written! I cut way back on both, added a little diced prosciutto, and was mostly ok with the outcome. I used between 2 and 3 oz. of Gorgonzola. Thanks for the recipe, this was fun to try out :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Pizza

This easy homemade pizza goes great with a peppery pear salad.

Pear Gorgonzola Pizza

See how to make a delicious pear and cheese pizza with an artisan pizza crust.

Potato Pesto Pizza

See how to make a flavor-packed potato and pesto pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States