Caramelized Onion and Gorgonzola Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was a very good recipe! I followed other reviewers advice and used about 5 oz of gorgonzola along with some mozzarella, and honestly, I felt like it needed more gorgonzola, so next time I will use more. To those who noted that it seemed too sweet, you do not have to add the sugar to the onions, they are sweet enough w/o it. The only drawback was that it did seem to need some kind of sauce.I think next time I will make a a gorgonzola cream sauce and use that as a base. Can't wait to try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This is excellent! I make it at least once a week now for fam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
I've made this several times now and I think it's one of the best pizza recipes ever. I also cut the amount of gorgonzola in half (just to not overpower guests with this, not everyone is a fan of blue cheese flavor) and add mozzarella first, then the onions and top with the gorgonzola. I just french cut the onion, no need to cut super thin or dice, they shrink down a lot and I use half olive oil and butter when sauteing onions and whole wheat dough from fresh & easy and it's just as good!! A hit everytime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Domines

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I thought the flavors were way too strong and didn't have much complexity. It was very sweet, and there was too much gorgonzola; it didn't do justice to the cheese. (I love gorgonzola by itself.) Maybe this pizza is just an acquired taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
I agree with a lot of the other posts in that the gorgonzola needs to be decreased for our tastes. I also added chicken and some mozzarella cheese to mine. Amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
This is very good. Next time I will put a thin layer of BBQ sauce on the crust before cooking. I tried dipping, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
This recipe is a winner. I have made it a few times now and it's definitely a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yonkers, New York, USA
Living In: Hopewell Junction, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
This pizza was okay. The flavors are very strong, so unless you're eating it with something else (which I wasn't) then it may be a little too intense. I may make it again as an appetizer for a party or something, but not as a meal for me and the hubby because I don't think I can handle the strong flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
This made a wonderful appetizer. I followed the advice of lots of reviewers and added a layer or mozzarella cheese and only used 1/2 of the recommended Gorgonzola. I liked the mozzarella, but I think I will add all of the Gorgonzola on top of the mozzarella next tiem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Really good, different and E-Z! I used a Whole Wheat Pizza dough from Trader Joes and it was very good. I only used less then half of the amount of gorgonzola cheese called for and we thought that was all it needed. I added a few diced sun dried tomatoes because I had some I wanted to use up and like the addition to the pizza. This would also make a great appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tizzylizz
Home Town: Milford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 131) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gorgonzola Pizza

This easy homemade pizza goes great with a peppery pear salad.

Pear Gorgonzola Pizza

See how to make a delicious pear and cheese pizza with an artisan pizza crust.

Blooming Onion and Dipping Sauce

This crispy, batter-fried onion with zesty dipping sauce gets the party going.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States