Caramelized Onion and Blue Cheese Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Okay. We don't like blue cheese so we substituted it for feta cheese and omitted the spinach. This was not bad. Not our absolute favorite, but a good addition to beef burgundy I (found on this website).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
- makes a TON - for one person use a 1/4 of the rissotto - carmalize onions for at least an hour - use cream cheese by adding it SLOWLY - use high quality blue cheese - good for a side, way too rich for entree
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This is a very good side dish. I always use the number of onions called for, and I have used cream cheese. You will taste the sweetness of the caramelized onion, so if you don't like onion...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Yum! I love orzo so just had to try this. However, I hate blue cheese so I used Feta and it was wonderful! This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2008
This is the first recipe I've made from this site that I did not like. I couldn't even bring myself to eat it. The flavors were overpowering and didn't mech well together - I even tried adding some tomatoes to my portion with no avail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelleag05

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Yum, yum and yum! I would probably change the cheese to feta or gorgonzola and add lots more spinach, but this really is a fabulous recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Played around with this recipe a little as I didn't have the mascarpone cheese, enough onions or spinach. I liked the results though as did the family. The overall flavor was good and different enough from our usual orzo side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
This dish came out pretty good! I did make some alterations to suit my family's taste. I subbed parmesan cheese for the blue cheese. I caramelized shallots instead of the onion- shallot is more subtle in flavor than onions. I also added 2 tsp of minced garlic to the shallots during the last few minutes of cook time. I also added the spinach to the pan to wilt it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I had such high hopes for what sounded like such a delicious dish! I should've read all the reviews. Mascarpone did not work, cream cheese would have been better, four onions was NOT too much so keep them all in, 1 pound of pasta was way too much and too bland, the spinach needs to be added while it's still cooking to wilt it some. If I make it again, I'll make drastic changes. I agree it was missing "something" but not sure what. Toasted walnuts might have been a good addition too, but not sure what else would help this...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
I 1/2'd the pasta and doubled the spinach. Used prewashed baby spinach and rotini shaped pasta. Also sub'd cream cheese for mascarpone. Had only 4 oz. of the blue cheese. VERY GOOD. It cools very quickly. Had to nuke individual servings. Fine for wife and I. Would be very difficult to serve warm to many more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Moorestown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Chatsworth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pear and Blue Cheese Salad

A green salad gets dressed up with sliced pears, candied pecans, and blue cheese.

Cauliflower Soup with Blue Cheese Fritters

Earthy, comforting cauliflower soup is topped with light, cheesy fritters.

Green Bean Almondine with Garlic & Blue Cheese

Trick out your green bean side dish with roasted garlic & tangy blue cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States