Caramelized French Toast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Amber Skinner Parham
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Me and my daughter did this recipe just add it said EXCEPT we added the water (straight out the faucet) one spoon at a time and it didn't get hard or anything. That's the only thing o suggest is put the water in A LITTLE AT A TIME and it'll turn out great! Also Make sure u have enough butter in the pan and it shouldn't burn at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
way to sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I followed this recipe exactly as written and thought it was delicious. I do agree that making the caramel sauce was a little difficult as I have never made it that way. I didn't get the brown sugar to melt as much as I think I was supposed to. But the end result was little brown sugar pebbles which I thought added to the dish making the french toast a little crisp. Very good! I'm dreading cleaning the plan though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2013
This is quite easy and yummy. My boyfriend wanted me to skip the caramelized sauce to save on calories. It didn't take away the flavor. I did sneak in 1/8 tsp ground cinnamon, 1/2 tsp vanilla and since I already had 1/2&1/2, I used 1/4 cup of that and 1% milk. Used lite syrup with the dish. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RoxanneG

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I added the water before adding brown sugar and cook it 30 seconds..... We liked it.... I halved the recipe..... It was great.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Herndon, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
WOW! I can't believe all the negative reviews on this AWSOME recipe! I am in no way a great cook, just dabble here n there. I added a bit of cinnamon to the egg mixture, and when I did the brown sugar part I added fresh cut strawberries just a couple minutes after starting the brown sugar. Let them soften together(maybe melting totally is the problem some have had) then added room temp water, and let simmer few minutes! Made me dream of opening a restaurant as soon as I tasted it! I didn't have any whipping cream but just imagined how much more AWSOME this French toast would have been! Thanks for sharing this AWSOME recipe!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
a bit intense, but good all of the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIRSTIN243

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Rae
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Very good. I used French bread and sliced them thick. Easy and quick to make. I did drizzle caramel sauce over the french toast instead of dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2013
this was a great breakfast for a Sunday lazy morning~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by biggeater56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This was a big hit with my family! All of the kids are home from college and I was looking for something special to serve for our Saturday breakfast. Everyone said this was amazing and different from other french toast recipes we've tried in the past. Even the youngest who does not like french toast gave this one a thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marymakin'

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Caramelized French Toast

See how to make crave-worthy French toast with a sweet caramel sauce.

Stuffed French Toast II

See how to make easy but elegant stuffed French toast.

French Toast Stars

Make breakfast delicious and fun with star-shaped French toast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States