Caramelized Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2013
This was a very tasty sauce, the family enjoyed it. My hubby thought it tasted like Pad Thai. I did mine differently though as I had no desire to stand in front of the stove for an hour. First off, I used drumsticks rather than chicken wings. I doubled the sauce recipe (but reduced the sugar by 1/3). This was a little too saucy, would do 1.5 of the recipe next time. Mixed the sauce in a saucepan on the stove and heated it so the peanut butter would melt. I also coated the chicken with flour, pan fried the drums in oil then baked them in a 9x13 pan with the sauce poured over top. Baked them for about 55 mins. To serve I poured the sauce in a pan and thickened with cornstarch. Ate the sauce with the rice and a side of veggies. It was really tasty and would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Hoover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tillsonburg, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Very good, loved the smooth consistency of the sauce, thickened up beautifully, will definitely be making these again...easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Ladysmith, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2013
I like this one, simply and people love it. I reduce the sugar a bit and have tried it with drumsticks but still prefer wings. I also like to get this recipe started and then stick it in the crock pot. That makes it simple and easy for travel purposes like company picnics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What you cooking Willis?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Pullman, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I use my pressure cooker, cook chicken for 20 minutes in the sauce, remove to a baking pan & broil to crisp the skin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamalemala

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
nice change
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilly Potter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
The flavor is wonderful- reminds me of Thai food. The only thing I would suggest is some heat- a little red pepper flakes or cayenne- just to compliment the peanut butter sweetness. I've already made this several times. Sometimes I just broil chicken breasts and do the sauce separately. I add a bit of cornstarch to the water and bring it to a boil, then pour it over my chicken breasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
Really great recipe! Everyone in the family really enjoyed it! Not too sweet and much better than Honey Garlic sauce. A must try, will use this recipe many times:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This was just too much work for too little payoff. When I took the aluminum foil off after 30 minutes, I had chicken wing soup. I poured off about half the liquid and turned on the convection fan. I ended up pouring off the liquid 2 more times in order to get the wings to brown and get rid of the sogginess. They tasted okay, but no wow factor worthy of wasting all those ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I am rating and the reviewing the sauce only, as I have my own method of preparing wings. Based on other reviews, I halved the amount of sugar used and the level of sweetness was perfect for us. We are big fans of sweet with a little kick, so I added a generous sprinkling of crushed red pepper. I mixed all of the sauce ingredients in my electric skillet and cooked until slightly thickened. I then coated wings that had been boiled for 10 minutes and placed them on a broiling pan and broiled the wings on each side for about 5 minutes to give them a little crispiness. I then returned the wings to the electric skillet with the remaining sauce and continued to simmer uncovered until the sauce completely carmelized. Delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
TERRIFFIC!!!!!!! There were NO left overs. This is certainly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Japanese Chicken Wings

See how to make tangy, sticky, delicious 5-star chicken wings.

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Make hot wings that taste like the famous restaurant chain’s.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States