Caramelized Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2014
This is great! I made the mistake of making it in a cast-iron dutch oven though, and the soup turned a light brown color- not attractive! Added silken tofu instead of cream to add protein. I usually like apple in my butternut soup as well, and it would've been a nice addition- next time I will add some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
I liked this soup much more than variations which call for roasting the squash. I cut down the fat by omitting the butter and using light instead of heavy cream. I used an immersion blender which is quickly becoming my favorite kitchen tool!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northampton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Somerset, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I loved this recipe, and it was a hit with my fussy teenage daughter! As someone else mentioned cutting up the butternut squash was the hardest part, otherwise very easy to make. I also reduced the amount of cream used and anyone making it should be aware, the white pepper has quite a kick! If your not into spicy food reduce the pepper somewhat but otherwise a fantastic recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2014
Very good, though I didn't use the cream, too many calories; I pealed and chopped 3 small potatoes and let them cook with the squash, once blended it has a very creamy texture. Used garlic black pepper as no white in house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I substituted chicken bullion and had to use milk with extra melted butter instead of heavy cream. Tasted delightful! My picky husband and 21 month old loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Parsons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Excellent recipe! I substituted the cream with almond milk due to food allergies and it was great! I also added a pinch of cinammon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
My daughter made this for us one evening when we were over for dinner. She followed the recipe exactly except for using Trader Joe’s flower pepper instead of the white. It was seriously one of the most delicious soups I’ve ever had! What amazing flavor! The caramelization of the squash and onion adds such a depth of flavor, both savory and sweet. We couldn’t stop eating it! I have several butternut squash plants in the garden right now and come fall this recipe is going to be happening every week at our house! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Adair County, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Seriously one of the most delicious and easy to make soups I've ever had/done! I used black pepper and regular cream instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Don't love onions? Try this teensy edit! This is the most amazing recipe, and my go-to for making soups! Made it for my husband's family for Christmas and they loved it! I pretty much eyeball everything in the kitchen, so I don't know if I edited the quantities of the recipe a bit.. usually just do it to taste. As far as stock goes, I use 3 cups of broth and a stock pot and if I need more broth, pour it in to taste. Only changes: I HATE onions unless I can't taste them (don't mind the flavour of the caramelised onions, but still can't eat them plain, so when I make this, I always do the onions separately with a little brown sugar, some olive oil and balsamic vinegar (or raspberry wine or some other sweetish vinegar) until they are pretty mushy. After it's cooked, I put the onion in the food processor so I can't distinguish any onion texture. Taking this extra step to pan-caramelise and puree makes a huge difference and I think adds a fantastic touch for those who find onions too strong. Then I cook the squash, which I find take more than 5 minutes every time (maybe I have my cubes too big?) and add the onions in when the squash is done. I think I used the amount of cream the recipe called for, but as I said, I eyeball and do to taste. Didn't have any white pepper on hand, just used regular, so I can't say anything on that front. SO, SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I cut down the cream cheese and added 1 cup fat free 1/2 & 1/2. Instead of sautéing the onions, I cut into quarters, cut the butternut into a little bit bigger sized pieces, drizzled both with olive oil and spices, and roast in 425 oven for 40 mins. After which, I cooled, puréed and added to soup pan. I also added 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese to the soup while cooking. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Voss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States