Caramelized Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
I substituted chicken bullion and had to use milk with extra melted butter instead of heavy cream. Tasted delightful! My picky husband and 21 month old loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristine Parsons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Excellent recipe! I substituted the cream with almond milk due to food allergies and it was great! I also added a pinch of cinammon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
My daughter made this for us one evening when we were over for dinner. She followed the recipe exactly except for using Trader Joe’s flower pepper instead of the white. It was seriously one of the most delicious soups I’ve ever had! What amazing flavor! The caramelization of the squash and onion adds such a depth of flavor, both savory and sweet. We couldn’t stop eating it! I have several butternut squash plants in the garden right now and come fall this recipe is going to be happening every week at our house! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RivertownMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Seriously one of the most delicious and easy to make soups I've ever had/done! I used black pepper and regular cream instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
Don't love onions? Try this teensy edit! This is the most amazing recipe, and my go-to for making soups! Made it for my husband's family for Christmas and they loved it! I pretty much eyeball everything in the kitchen, so I don't know if I edited the quantities of the recipe a bit.. usually just do it to taste. As far as stock goes, I use 3 cups of broth and a stock pot and if I need more broth, pour it in to taste. Only changes: I HATE onions unless I can't taste them (don't mind the flavour of the caramelised onions, but still can't eat them plain, so when I make this, I always do the onions separately with a little brown sugar, some olive oil and balsamic vinegar (or raspberry wine or some other sweetish vinegar) until they are pretty mushy. After it's cooked, I put the onion in the food processor so I can't distinguish any onion texture. Taking this extra step to pan-caramelise and puree makes a huge difference and I think adds a fantastic touch for those who find onions too strong. Then I cook the squash, which I find take more than 5 minutes every time (maybe I have my cubes too big?) and add the onions in when the squash is done. I think I used the amount of cream the recipe called for, but as I said, I eyeball and do to taste. Didn't have any white pepper on hand, just used regular, so I can't say anything on that front. SO, SO GOOD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I cut down the cream cheese and added 1 cup fat free 1/2 & 1/2. Instead of sautéing the onions, I cut into quarters, cut the butternut into a little bit bigger sized pieces, drizzled both with olive oil and spices, and roast in 425 oven for 40 mins. After which, I cooled, puréed and added to soup pan. I also added 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese to the soup while cooking. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol Voss

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2014
Perfect just as it is. My favorite butternut soup recipe ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I've been on a soup-making kick all winter and this is tops! I made it exactly per the recipe except for substituting vegetable broth, as I'm a vegetarian. It has just a delicious combination of sweet and savory taste--nice complex flavors. It's not easy to make, what with all the squash chopping, but I'm afraid there's no getting out of making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
This recipe was absolutely delicious. We left the cream out to be added per bowl by personal taste, but I thought it was perfect without the cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
Loved this - the hardest part was peeling the butternut squash. The rest was a total breeze and it came out absolutely perfect. A little sweet and a little savory. I definitely recommend this - even if you aren't an onion fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teakettica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States