Caramelized Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Diana71
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2012
The interesting thing about this soup was that the taste kept changing so significantly across every step. Was very very pleasantly surprised with the flavor after adding the cream. And, indeed, add the bacon because it makes the soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Creamy, great texture, the hardest part was cutting the squash!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
I'm usually a disaster in the kitchen but this was a no brainer & it came out perfect & delicious. I used philamom's advice to use a hand-held blender, great tip! I also went to Whole Foods & got two 20oz.each packages of peeled & cubed butternut squash, it makes 10 servings in this recipe. I used crystallized gourmet honey (I used "Miele d'Fleur", a product of Spain) & didn't puree completely...the flavor & texture were incredible! Now, it's a bit heavy so next time I'd go a little easier on the cream but all in all, such a fantastic recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
Two things kept me from giving this recipe 5 stars: It was too salty, and the chicken stock should have been added in two parts. 1) I'm the salt queen. I put extra salt on everything! So when I say "too salty," believe it! Next time I make this, I'll put 1 TEASPOON to start, then let others add what they want at serving time. 2) Adding 32 ounces of chicken stock before blending made for a dangerous situation. Even trying to hold down the top of the blender as instructed, the top shot off and hot soup flew everywhere (including on my hand)! If you have a handheld blender, use that to blend right in the pot. That worked really well for me. If you don't have a handheld, I would add about two cups of stock when cooking the squash/onion mixture, put that mixture into the blender when cooked, and add the rest of the chicken stock after you pour it back into the pot. Then simmer for a few more minutes before adding the cream. Keeping these two problems in mind, I will make this again! It really was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This was very yummy soup! I bought a package of peeled butternut squash cut into large chunks from Trader Joes. I highly recommend it, to save time. However, I realized it was only 1lb 2oz, so I made 1/3 of the recipe. I added about 3-4 minutes onto the simmering time once I added the broth as they were big pieces. I then put it all in Vitamix blender and blended it on high about 3-4 additional minutes. Only change was I didn't have heavy cream so, I used 2% milk and 1 Tblsp of butter. It worked fine for last minute. This is very much like the butternut squash from the nice restaurants, except I liked that it was not loaded with cream and butter, and I know what went into it. I got 3 servings with 1/3 of the recipe, which was fine for dinner tonight. TY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
This was so good and so easy to make! I didn't even add cream. Flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Olivia Sotelo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
yummy - no cream needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Amazingly good! I used just a hint of milk instead of cream and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
Very tasty! Reduced the cream by a little bit, but left everything else the same. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Neenah, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: South Lyon, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Super smooth and satisfying. I added 2 cloves roasted garlic just after cooking the onion. With or without the garlic this is a beautiful, luxurious winter soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tcup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warroad, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Menomonie, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States