Caramelized Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was FANTASTIC. I made it for my parents as a Sunday lunch, paired with a baked pork tenderloin. The only part that took any time was peeling and cubing the butternut squash, which I had never worked with before this recipe. I didn't add more white pepper than the 1 tsp, because it can get a little overpowering. Definitely a new family favorite- and SO inexpensive! It makes a LOT and is very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Foster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I had never used white pepper before, but-oh my goodness-that is a powerfully unique flavor (not in a good way, to my tastes). My soup had to be completely altered to try to compensate and I only used 1/2 tsp of the white pepper to start. I had to add lemon, cinnamon, cumin, red pepper flakes (everything but the kitchen sink). It ended up great but I would definitely not follow this recipe again. Also agree with previous reviews--start with only 2 cups of stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This was delicious and easy to follow and make!!! I just had 2 bowls full!!!! Awesome!!!! Wonderful for fall season!!!! THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Simply delicious! Made it as recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This is probably my favorite butternut squash recipe so far. I frequently skip browning the squash in the pot and instead cut the squash in half, butter it and cook it on a cookie sheet for 30 minutes to make it easier to peel. My favorite variation to try is adding chopped pears. Using two bartletts add a great sweetness and depth. I haven't noticed the saltiness problem other people have mentioned, but I always use unsalted chicken stock in my cooking. Also, since I hate measuring honey, I usually give my bear around 20 quick squeezes. That seems to do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Delicious!! Used milk instead of cream and still excellent. Really nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
beautiful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
yummy - no cream needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Loved this recipe. Only change I made was i used 5% cream as that's all I had on hand. Husband loved it too - super filling!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah King Kornbrek
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
This was very yummy soup! I bought a package of peeled butternut squash cut into large chunks from Trader Joes. I highly recommend it, to save time. However, I realized it was only 1lb 2oz, so I made 1/3 of the recipe. I added about 3-4 minutes onto the simmering time once I added the broth as they were big pieces. I then put it all in Vitamix blender and blended it on high about 3-4 additional minutes. Only change was I didn't have heavy cream so, I used 2% milk and 1 Tblsp of butter. It worked fine for last minute. This is very much like the butternut squash from the nice restaurants, except I liked that it was not loaded with cream and butter, and I know what went into it. I got 3 servings with 1/3 of the recipe, which was fine for dinner tonight. TY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah King Kornbrek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States