Caramelized Butternut Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Very yummy! I tried roasting the squash in the oven for 30 minutes, then mashing it and adding it to the caramelized onions and proceeding from there. A bit salty for us, so I'd half the salt and add more to taste. Otherwise, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Made the soup with vegetable broth instead and followed the rest as it said. Pretty good Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omemee, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
This was FANTASTIC. I made it for my parents as a Sunday lunch, paired with a baked pork tenderloin. The only part that took any time was peeling and cubing the butternut squash, which I had never worked with before this recipe. I didn't add more white pepper than the 1 tsp, because it can get a little overpowering. Definitely a new family favorite- and SO inexpensive! It makes a LOT and is very filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsey Foster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Marietta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
I had never used white pepper before, but-oh my goodness-that is a powerfully unique flavor (not in a good way, to my tastes). My soup had to be completely altered to try to compensate and I only used 1/2 tsp of the white pepper to start. I had to add lemon, cinnamon, cumin, red pepper flakes (everything but the kitchen sink). It ended up great but I would definitely not follow this recipe again. Also agree with previous reviews--start with only 2 cups of stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
This was delicious and easy to follow and make!!! I just had 2 bowls full!!!! Awesome!!!! Wonderful for fall season!!!! THANK YOU!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
Simply delicious! Made it as recipe stated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This is probably my favorite butternut squash recipe so far. I frequently skip browning the squash in the pot and instead cut the squash in half, butter it and cook it on a cookie sheet for 30 minutes to make it easier to peel. My favorite variation to try is adding chopped pears. Using two bartletts add a great sweetness and depth. I haven't noticed the saltiness problem other people have mentioned, but I always use unsalted chicken stock in my cooking. Also, since I hate measuring honey, I usually give my bear around 20 quick squeezes. That seems to do the trick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2013
Delicious!! Used milk instead of cream and still excellent. Really nice flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alyson_a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
beautiful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
yummy - no cream needed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States