Caramelized Brussels Sprouts with Pistachios Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
The reason I only gave it 4 stars is because the 4 pounds of Brussel sprouts compared to butter and onions, seemed sooo outlandish, I didn't want to chance it. But, I scaled it down to 1/2 pound size for 2 people and it was excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
This is the most amazing way to make brussel sprouts! I have converted "haters" with this recipe. We make it for every special occasion. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Awesome recipe. Almonds are a good substitute for the pistachios if you don't have pistachios on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Fantastic. Watch the steaming time-- mine were a little too cooked at 8 mins. Should have done 6 & would have been perfect-- but it's still our favorite sprout recipe. And EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I did like recipe and there were 2 thumbs up all around the table. Not the usual reaction to brussel sprouts in my home. Next time I make this I will use a yellow, not a red onion. I will also try using balsamic, not red wine vinegar. Like other reviewers, after steaming I cut the sprouts in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allyson Thomas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
They didn't exactly "caramelize" as I'd expected but they were still good. The pistachios definitely make the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
OH MY GOODNESS - these are amazing!!! I started caramelizing the onions in butter with a little salt while steaming the sprouts, then threw the sprouts in as soon as they were done. Took quite a bit longer to caramelize them but glad I waited to add vinegar & sugar because they were incredible like this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I don't like Brussel Sprouts, and still don't after trying this recipe but my husband liked them and my kids each at one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erica Petrucci

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
put some fried pieces of bacon in the mix it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I waited to add the vinegar until I added the brussel sprouts back into the onions. We absolutely loved this dish and will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 229) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States