Caramelized Brussels Sprouts with Pistachios Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
double sauce, little less sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Eating them now! Sink full of dishes, stack of presents waiting to be wrapped, dining alone.... But I have brussels sprouts. Didn't take much time at all, and I didn't use any nuts but I'll try it with nuts next time. Cut the recipe way down for just me. So great! I actually like brussels sprouts and this recipe takes away any bitterness and leaves rich goodness. I cut them in half before blanching, which always adds flavor. I think the only time I use them whole is in a soup or stew. I also blanche instead of steam since it uses less hardware and takes some fuss out. Let the onions sautee in the butter a bit before adding the vinegar for better caramelization.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARMONKEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
is hard to get them right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
great recipe.. loved it!!!! followed to the letter and these came out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joann b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
forget the turkey....THIS was the hit of Thanksgiving this year - no leftovers and everyone asked for the recipe! I've never liked brussel sprouts, but I looooooved these. I followed the recipe exactly, but next time I will try to cut the amount of butter and see if it turns out as good...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
I've made a variation of this recipe before. To improve it I created a pistachio dust by grinding the pistachios in a small coffee grinder. Additionally, I discarded the outer, course leaves of the sprouts and quartered them. I applied the dust toward the end of the sauteeing process. The dust, along with smaller size of the cut sprounts boosted the flavor wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I am eating these right now as I type and I have NEVER made fresh Brussells before and I picked these up @ Trader Joes they looked so good! Decided to use this recipe and I am very pleased! I scaled back the portion size and I think I could have added more onion (I think I simply did not add enough) and I added more vinegar. Really tasty and will make again. I made sure to really carmelize the sprouts so they looked like they were 'roasted' with a nice browned color. I did cut them in half after steaming before browning them so when they were carmelizing the flavors would soak into the open leaves of the veggie. Great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
This is DELICIOUS! The directions are perfectly written. The only thing I did differently was to steam the sprouts in the microwave for 5 minutes, same results. Best Brussels sprouts recipe I've ever tried! Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I used white onions with red onions. I work as a cook and they went over very very well, even someone who never would eat brussel sprouts before tried and liked them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CindyKay

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lisle, New York, USA
Living In: Johnson City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
Big hit at our Thanksgiving dinner this year. The nuts are the perfect crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 226) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States