Caramelized Brussels Sprouts with Pistachios Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
put some fried pieces of bacon in the mix it was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I waited to add the vinegar until I added the brussel sprouts back into the onions. We absolutely loved this dish and will make it often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I am rather amazed by this recipe. I love Brussels sprouts, and I assumed I would enjoy this dish, but I was totally blown away by how flavorful these little heads of awesomeness were! I have had Brussels sprouts prepared 6 ways from Sunday, and I daresay this is my new favorite. And, I mean, there isn't even any bacon in these!!! My daughter put a couple on her plate and bit into one on her way to sit down- she immediately did a U-turn and loaded up her plate with more. I followed the recipe exactly, but halved it to serve 4...I think they would still be all gone had I made the full recipe. Yum! Thanks GODGIFU! I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Puck

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
This was a surprising dish, we really loved it! In fact, one of my sisters threatened to eat it all if the third sister didn't arrive soon! I had only white onions on hand, so I used those. I also cut down the amount of onion. I used pecans in place of the pistachios because that's what was in the house. It's a pretty versatile dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeirdAuntMartha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
Fantastic! I messed up a few things but it was really good. Like other reviewers said, don't add the vinegar right away, it will mess up the onions and they won't caramelize. Anyway, I had 1 lb of brussels sprouts, I only have earth balance spread because I don't buy dairy butter, and I only had apple cider vinegar. I didn't use much vinegar, as I was unsure about the substitution. I also maybe steamed the sprouts longer than I was supposed to. They were very tender. That's fine, I like them that way anyway. They were sweet and flavorful. What a win!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Cliff notes: Too sweet, omit the sugar! This recipe was OK, I think with a few tweaks it could be way better. Here is my one disclaimer: I like Brussels Sprouts! I think that if you don't like them (or think you don't like them), this could be the right recipe for you; if you love them, it's not so great. I made this recipe almost precisely as directed. I really enjoyed sweating down/partially caramelizing the onions with the butter and red wine vinegar and they added a great flavor to the dish! As other reviewers mentioned, not a lot of flavor was added to the actual Brussels, but I did chop them in half as other reviewers suggested (and as I usually do with Brussels) because it does help get more flavor into them. The element that I felt was unnecessary was the sugar. Brussels are naturally quite sweet once cooked down, and when I added the sugar, it was just way to sweet for my taste. Next time I might try with little to no sugar! Otherwise, a great base recipe that highlights the Brussels and adds some excellent complementary flavors with the red onions, red wine vinegar, and salty nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
Pretty tasty! I cut the sprouts in half prior to steaming. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ShelleyLynn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I couldn't get the brussels to caramelize even though I only put a bit of vinegar in. I will try this again and throw in all the vinegar right at the end. The flavours were good and the guests all took seconds :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lece

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Stockholm, Stockholms, Sweden

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This recipe was so easy and so delicious!!! It's definitely a keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joyce711
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
These were a big hit at Thanksgiving... loved them! I followed the recipe exactly and was very pleased.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Saucy Brussels Sprouts

Learn how to make tasty Brussels sprouts in a warm orange sauce.

Duck Fat-Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make easy Brussels sprouts roasted with duck fat.

How to Make Roasted Brussels Sprouts

See how to make roasted Brussels sprouts and cipollini onions.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States