Caramelized Apple Bites Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
Wow! Quick, easy, and delicious. Big hit at my house. (Because we like thicker, richer sauces, I added a couple more caramel pieces and a smigon of cinnamon to the preparation, but would still be terrific according to this recipe.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scottley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hartsville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2001
Great recipe. I sauteed the apples first in butter, cinnamon, nutmeg and brown sugar and after about 5-7 mins when they were tender I mixed them in the caramel mixture. Served them with christmas dinner and they were the best 'baked' apples ever.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2001
Easy to make, wonderfully delicious! I made them for my Ladys Bible Study Group. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2001
These apple bites were really good right after I made them, but I didn't serve them for a couple of hours. By then, all the juices had combined with the caramel and turned really soupy. They still tasted good, though. Just serve them immediately!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather K.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Belmont, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MrsAltmiller
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
My son has been craving caramel apples ever since he got his braces, so I thought this recipe would be a big hit! Unfortunately, I had problems with it. I followed the recipe exactly but the sauce was very runny and never firmed up. Perhaps the type of apples I used (red delicious) were too juicy. That being said, the taste was still very yummy, and we can't stop eating them. It's just very messy and not all that pleasant to look at. Next time I will try a different type of apple and I will cut back on the corn syrup to see if the caramel firms up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsAltmiller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Dixon, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
This recipe was certainly easy and the taste was good, but I can't give it more stars because of presentation - the sauce was pretty liquid, so it didn't really coat the apples very well, and it just sat in the bottom of the bowl. Maybe I did something wrong? I might try adding more caramels like one reviewer said. And it doesn't make good leftovers (because of the soupiness) so make sure you eat it all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Missoula, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
This would probably be a good side dish, but I don't think it should be catagorized under appetisers and snacks, because the end result is a lot looser than I thought it wouls be. Also, 30 seconds was not enough to melt the caramel, although I doubled the recipe because i has a lot of apples to use up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
I didn't have any luck with this recipe. I made it, as directed, and allowed them to cool. (on the counter - not refrigerated) When I went back to serve them, the tray I had them in was full of liquid and the apples were mushy like mashed potatos. I'm not sure why this happened, but just don't leave them cooling for more than an hour like I did (about 1 hour 1/2)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Apple Crisp with Oat Topping

Cinnamon apples bake under a simple topping of sweet, buttery oats.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States