Caramel Turtle Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
My Mom has been making these since I was a kid. Her recipe varies slightly - 1/2 c. of the milk with the carmels will make it smoother, she always used German Chocolate cake mix (the best), 3/4 c. of butter and only 1/3 c. of milk in the mix, and 1cup walnuts instead of pecans. Fantastic! I tried it with yellow cake mix and that was really good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
While they contain some of the same ingredients, I wouldn't say they tasted anything like the candy. They taste pretty good. It is more like eating a piece of chocolate cake with caramel, choc chips and pecans in the middle. They are moist and delicious. However, if you're looking for a fudgey-type brownie, this wouldn't be it. This is definitely a cake-type brownie, but just follow the instructions and you will have a tasty treat. I toasted the pecans, chopped them finely and added them to the caramel/chip mixture. Thanks Jessi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
I started melting the caramels before I checked to see if I had chocolate cake mix. I didn't, so I substituted yellow cake mix. Yum! Next time I make it with yellow cake, I'll call it Turtle Surprise Bars. I'll add chopped pecans to the caramel/chocolate chip layer to create a hidden turtle layer in the middle. I also used fat-free evaporated milk (but I'm not sure that it lessened the guilt by much...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Sorry but these are not a brownie at all. It is cake and in my opinion a waste of a good bag of caramels and cake mix! If you want a fabulous brownie go with the Caramel Chocolate Brownies on this site. They take time but are a million times better!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2005
I had to make some adjustments in the baking time, but other than that I followed this recipe to the T and these came out great. I ended up baking them for about 10 minutes longer on the last baking, and the brownie part actually came out the perfect brownie texture. The caramel and chocolate center melted great and stayed right in the middle without blending with the bottom layer of brownie, and the whole thing tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Four adults and two kids thought these were unpleasantly sweet, without any richness or depth of flavor, really more like a candy than a brownie. The other reviewers must be sugar-holics! I should have known better than to make a recipe with cake mix and evaporated milk as a key ingredients, and the absence of eggs should have been a dead giveaway, but I was in a hurry. Never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2002
This recipe was delish. The only changes I made was I used chopped pecans and instead of putting them on top I added them in with the chips and carmel layer in the middle. Also, I used white cake mix instead of chocolate and made a "blond brownie" which was out of this world. They were absolutely addictive and a keeper for sure. Thanks Jessi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2010
Very moist & tasty. Used caramel ice cream topping instead of caramels. (Saved time from unwrapping the candy!). Used it as a base for ice cream sundaes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Magnolia Blossom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lostant, Illinois, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2002
Family enjoyed them although the middle batch from the pan were quite goopy. I will cook them a bit longer next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Delicious! I used a double chocolate fudge cake mix & left out the pecans... came out great!! It was easy to make for a first-time baker. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States