Caramel Turtle Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2003
awesome !! and easy !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Aurora, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2003
My Mom has been making these since I was a kid. Her recipe varies slightly - 1/2 c. of the milk with the carmels will make it smoother, she always used German Chocolate cake mix (the best), 3/4 c. of butter and only 1/3 c. of milk in the mix, and 1cup walnuts instead of pecans. Fantastic! I tried it with yellow cake mix and that was really good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
A real crowd pleaser. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2003
While they contain some of the same ingredients, I wouldn't say they tasted anything like the candy. They taste pretty good. It is more like eating a piece of chocolate cake with caramel, choc chips and pecans in the middle. They are moist and delicious. However, if you're looking for a fudgey-type brownie, this wouldn't be it. This is definitely a cake-type brownie, but just follow the instructions and you will have a tasty treat. I toasted the pecans, chopped them finely and added them to the caramel/chip mixture. Thanks Jessi.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
These are decadent, gooey, and delicious. Definitely not for those who don't like sweets that much. As for me, I have a bigtime sweet tooth and this recipe is very satisfying.:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
Maybe I did something wrong, but I didn't like these much at all. The brownie part wasn't terriffic, and the carmel was way to difficult to chew. I wouldn't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
Delicious! I used a double chocolate fudge cake mix & left out the pecans... came out great!! It was easy to make for a first-time baker. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2002
Yes. That's all I can say. Yes. Yes. Yes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
Four adults and two kids thought these were unpleasantly sweet, without any richness or depth of flavor, really more like a candy than a brownie. The other reviewers must be sugar-holics! I should have known better than to make a recipe with cake mix and evaporated milk as a key ingredients, and the absence of eggs should have been a dead giveaway, but I was in a hurry. Never again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
I started melting the caramels before I checked to see if I had chocolate cake mix. I didn't, so I substituted yellow cake mix. Yum! Next time I make it with yellow cake, I'll call it Turtle Surprise Bars. I'll add chopped pecans to the caramel/chocolate chip layer to create a hidden turtle layer in the middle. I also used fat-free evaporated milk (but I'm not sure that it lessened the guilt by much...).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States