Caramel Turtle Brownies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
I'll admit, I'm not a big fan of brownies or cake, but when my cousin made these I felt compelled to at least try one. This is without a doubt one of the best things I have put in my mouth. It is so moist and gooey, I ate it with some vanilla icecream. My only complaint, or warning, is that the caramel layer is very chewy and tends to get rather stuck in the teeth. I recommend not serving this to company because it is difficult to eat in a dainty manner :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
I love the idea. That being said, the cake-like texture was not my idea of a brownie. :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lawrence, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I have made this many times and it is always a success. I have added additional fillings on top of the carmel layer like shredded coconut and slivered almonds. These brownies can dry out, so keep sealed in air tight container.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2007
I used devils food cake mix with this and it wasn't very good. They were too cakey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gigidoll74

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alhambra, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2007
These are amazing! Whenever i need to bring a dessert anywhere this is what i bring. Everyone loves them! At my church people ador them and constantly ask for the recipe or for me to make them. They are a big hit with chocolate and caramel lovers (obviously). Its a amazing and easy recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
Sorry but these are not a brownie at all. It is cake and in my opinion a waste of a good bag of caramels and cake mix! If you want a fabulous brownie go with the Caramel Chocolate Brownies on this site. They take time but are a million times better!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jho2003

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2006
Not bad, not the best. The caramel in the middle did harden back up a bit and was kind of hard to cut and chew. It does taste like a chocolate cake with stuff in the middle. Like others, I used pecan pieces and put them in the layer of chocolate chips and caramel. My hubby and I enjoyed these brownies heated up with chocolate syrup and ice cream on top, but then again, we like all brownies like that. I would make them again, yeah, but these wouldn't be my first choice. The chocolate pb marbled brownies on this site as well as the Best Brownies recipes are the best I have found. Update: Several days later, I realize that this brownie probably makes the best a la mode I've ever had simply b/c the caramel softens right up when the brownies are heated, and they are soooo moist due to the caramel that they taste delicious with softened vanilla ice cream and chocolate syrup. Sooo, if you're in a brownie sundae mood, these are PERFECT! And they taste better a day or two after making them in my opinion.:-) I've changed it to a 5 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALLY99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
These were OK, not great but not bad either. I brought them to a party and people ate them, but there weren't any rave reviews. The recipe was simple and easy to follow. The only baking issue I had was with the nuts. I thought that the brownies would be gooey enough for the nuts to stick to the top, but they didn't. Most of them fell off when I cut/moved them from the pan. If I make theses again, I'll add the nuts to the brownie mixture before I bake it for the last time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
very excellant brownies, easy to make will have them again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
It's good, but more cake than brownie. I used dulce de leche instead of melting/milking the caramels - essentially the same thing, but much simpler. Next time I'll use a brownie recipe and just add in the caramel/pecan/chip step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quick and Easy Brownies

See how to make amazing homemade brownies in less than an hour.

Brooke's Best Bombshell Brownies

See how to make rich, fudgy brownies that are truly the bomb.

Mmm-Mmm Better Brownies

See how to make a brownie even better!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States