Caramel Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
I bake a lot, but this recipe just didn't work for me. It turned greasy - overflowed all over my oven and never set. I used the right size pan, followed the directions (I did substitute a jar of caramel topping based on other reviews) but it just didn't come out. I was afraid I was going to have to throw out my baking dish. Maybe 3/4 cup is too much shortening? Sorry - just didn't work for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
It would be reckless to make these if you are dieting. Temperance flew out the window after these were baked. They are irresistible. I used butter instead of shortening and a regular chocolate cake mix. Substituted coarsely chopped pretzels for the peanuts. After I poured the caramel over the chocolate chips I lightly sprinkled it with Sea Salt. Genius with the salty and super sweet. Thank you for sharing your recipe Daniel C as these squares are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
IT is great., as is I also add 1 c PB chips and it is devoured at work. ( Reminds all of snickers)In fact everyone loves it but said not to bring it too often as no one can resist it. My college-age DD and roommates love its much or more than co-workers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Instead of the German Chocolate cake mix, I substituted 1.5c flour, 1/2c sugar and 3 tbsp Cocoa, and it turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2008
Very Yummy Recipe!! It was fun making it and even more fun to eat them. I just replace the peanuts with almonds because it fits better that way. This is a great recipe for people who love caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2006
This recipe is similar to one that was called "Killer Brownies". When I make this recipe, I substitute Carmel ice cream topping for the carmels and milk mixture and it works great, plus it's easier to pour the carmel topping out of a jar than it is to unwrap all those carmels.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
I usually use butter instead of shortening and pecans instead of peanuts, plus an extra cup of chocolate chips. I make this in a 9/13 pan so I can have more of them. They are always SO good! Devil's food cake can also be substituted for the German Chocolate if that's what you have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2001
I have made this recipe many times. I use margarine instead of shortening. On the top when you drop the rest of the cake mix try spreading with a spoon. Just push it down so it is quite spread around the top. Also just stir ingrediants until moistened. EXCELLENT
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

How to Make Caramel Chocolate Coins

These dark chocolate coins are the currency of pure deliciousness.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States