Caramel Spice Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I followed another reviewers suggestion and made these into cupcakes. I followed the directions with a couple exceptions. I don't cook "white" so instead of making these with white sugar I used 2 cups of muscavado sugar (a more whole type of brown sugar) also used wheat flour in place of the white. Didn't use nuts or allspice either. When I went to try the icing I ran some muscavado suger thru a grinder to make my own confectioners sugar. Used a stick of butter, a 8 oz package of cream cheese, a spash of vanilla, some buttermilk and then sweetened it till it suited me with the muscavado confectioners sugar. This recipe made as written made 30 cupcakes. They got totally devoured...there were 7 left and the pastor asked if he could have the rest! Other reviewers said the cake was dry and I didn't find it that way-cooked em for about 25-30 minutes and they were perfect! Didn't care for the icing as written but the cake gets 5 stars...Thanks Ginger for this recipe-it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Living In: Buffalo, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
'Not new at this - & I'm kinda a wild thing ;D, I changed just a little: Down to 1c brown; added 2T olive oil; reduced nutmeg & cloves to 1/2t. Smelling spices only,it seemed a little clove-y. In the batter, a little clove-y &/or nutmeg-y. :/ I'm not a big nutmeg fan anyway. It's in the oven - in an 11x14 & it's a little low - at least before baking. A beautiful batter - one you have to run a knife through. I'm anxious! :) 45 mins, 350. Definately too much cake for a 9.5x13.5, but could go a little smaller than 11x14. It's not low, just not as full as usual. Only notice it because I'm looking. Sooo disappointed. This cake needs more butter/shortening/oil or one less egg or less baking powder/soda. I don't know which. I'm not going to play with it. It's very crumbly. It's identifiable as a spice cake, but it isn't all that spicy. If I hadn't made cream cheese frosting to go with it, it'd be in the trash. 'Don't know where the "caramel" fits in the name. Sorry to the submitter for the bad review.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2012
great from scratch taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
love cake, frosting leaves a lot to be desired...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pennville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Zephyrhills, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
I can't speak for this baked as a layer cake, nor can I speak for the frosting, which I didn't make because, frankly, it didn't appeal to me. But baked as cupcakes with my own flavored buttercream frosting, these were some "D" good cupcakes. I used a half recipe for 12 cupcakes, filled half full. A generous amount of both shortening and buttermilk should ensure moistness, but still be careful not to overbake. For this half recipe, I made this buttercream: 2-1/2 cups powdered sugar, 1/2 cup butter, a capful of Watkins caramel flavor, several good shakes of apple pie spice (cinnamon, nutmeg, allspice, or pumpkin pie spice would have been good too) and enough buttermilk to get it to the consistency I wanted - didn't measure, just added dribble by dribble. These are light and fluffy with a deliciously delicate caramel-spice flavor. This current Africa hot weather, and this recipe made me in the mood for fall and fall baking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I cannot praise this cake enough! Spice cakes can have a tendency to be dry, but this is lovely and moist, not overly sweet or spicy. Instead of baking in two separate 9 in. pans, I baked the batter in a Bundt pan @ 325 for just over an hour. I did not use the glaze recipe posted here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakeville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
This reminds me of my grandmother's spice cake. The frosting she used was a brown sugar penuche. This was and still is my favorite cake. I live in Denver, Co. so I used allrecipes suggestions for high altitude and it turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2010
Baked this one after a looong hiatus from the baking world. I was really just looking for a pick-me up n oh-boy YES THIS IS IT!! Lovely cake! I baked this in two 9" square pans and they took approx 23 minutes to bake. For the icing, I used 2 cups of confectionery sugar (instead of 3) and less than 1/4 cup of butter milk (to keep it to a spreadable consistency). I didn't find this dry in the least. But I think not over baking this and keeping your buttermilk consistency a little thick is the trick!! Also, since the recipe for the icing doesn't mention it, i added 'only a pinch' of nutmeg into the butter. I liked it, but add nutmeg only if you want a little extra spice otherwise skip it! Oh and by-the-way, the cake has a real Christmasy feel to this too ... so it's a good idea for a Christmas Platter! :) Thanks for the recipe Ginger! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ri2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
Very good, simple to make cake. everyone had seconds! The frosting is excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karetha Palmer-Dellgrottaglia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montrose, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
I doubled the icing recipe to make enough, but if I make this recipe again, I will only frost the top of the cake as the icing is very runny. It looked a mess after sitting out awhile (because of the butter). Also, use 3 cake pans. Two wasn't enough. The cakes were overflowing. I think this cake would be good in a rectangular cake pan with one layer of the icing on top. The cake was a little dry. I may use some sour cream next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Extreme Chocolate Cake

Take your chocolate cake to the extremes of deliciousness.

Chocolate Mayo Cake

Discover what a touch of mayo can do for chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States