Caramel Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2003
This recipe was far too sweet for my family's taste, and it took too long to finish (waiting for the shortbread to cool, waiting for the "caramel" to condense). Also, I was hoping for more of a caramel taste, but it really tasted too much like butterscotch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2003
Thanks for sharing this recipe. It is a pleasant surprise to find that it doesn't end up sickly sweet. I made this for a function at work and everyone wanted the recipe. Needless to say there wasn't a crumb left. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri St

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2002
The only problem I had with this recipe is that the shortbread crumbles. I don't know if I did something wrong??? Otherwise it is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2002
YUM! YUM! YUM! I made these last night and they are WONDERFUL. I'm having a hard time trying to save them for Christmas guests and not eat it all myself. I have NO IDEA what golden syrup is, so I just decided to wing it and substitute light corn syrup . . . and the finished product is great! Reminds me a lot of a Twix bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2002
Caramel is my nemesis, and it did crystallize a bit, but the bars still turned out excellently. A great treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
relly sinful but curiously comforting, it posts you back to the time when we were kids...the caramel didn't get thik enough but we did appreciate it just the same. quite delicious indeed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Como, Lombardia, Italy
Living In: Milan, Lombardia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
This is so rich and delicious. The recipe is easy to make, but watch the caramel because is can stick to the pan while cooking. I am going to put a heavier nut topping and powdered sugar on top to reduce the stickiness so I can cut and put in cupcake papers for guests and gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2001
My best friend in Missouri sent this to me as a Christmas gift...This has to be the finest gift I will recieve..The flavor and texture is perfect! I hope he wont make me wait until next year to make and send me more! Thank you Kevin for this wonderful shortbread dessert!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2001
I first tried caramel shortbread while living in Northern Ireland. I've wanted the recipe for years!!! This recipe is delicious and soooo easy. Everyone who tried it was ranting and raving about how rich and yummy this dessert is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2000
This was excellent! I even had to give the recipe away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States