Caramel Shortbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Really good. I also have trouble with things like caramel, but the cooking time stated was perfect on medium heat. I used semi-sweet chocolate chips and agree that milk chocolate would have allowed the caramel flavor to emerge more. My only other piece of advice is that after chilling to set the chocolate and cutting into squares (not easy because the chocolate and caramel are VERY firm when chilled) you should let them sit at room temperature for a few hours to soften them up a little--in fact, next time I will probably also wait until then to even cut them into squares.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
Every one said this was a great recipe i think i must of done something wrong as my carermel was never able to spread and never set and the base fell apart. would love be able to make them my self please help! i have now re made this recipe and i love it will be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chester, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
I have two problems with this recipe: the shortbread crumbles when you try to cut it, and the carmel is waaay too sweet. It smelled great on the stove until I added the sweetend condensed milk and it just ruined it. I used brown sugar as other suggested which really gave it a carmel smell, but again the condensed milk just made the carmel mixture gross. If for some reason I tried this again I would find something other than the condensed milk and use another shortbread recipe. Great idea, and it set up well but just way too sweet. I'll stick to the Twix bar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2006
I LOVED THIS! Well worth the effort! I can't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelbi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley View, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
As is, the recipe is a 4-star, but I think it can be made into a 5-star. Other reviewers didn't mention having any trouble with an excess pool of butter forming after the caramel was cooked, but I sure did; I drained at least 1/4c of butter from the caramel before spreading it on my shortbread crust; otherwise, I would have had a mushy crust, and the gooey caramel that some complained of. I melted semi-sweet chocolate chips for the topping as I had no milk chocolate in the house; even though I'm a bigger fan of semi-sweet, I think milk chocolate may be better with this so it doesn't mask the flavor of the caramel so much; next time, I would definitely sub brown sugar for white in the caramel mixture to further bring out the flavor. Also, I had to cook the caramel mixture much longer than 5-7 minutes; it was more like 20-25 minutes to get it to the nice golden color I was looking for. This may have been because I had to use light corn syrup as it was all I had. This recipe does take some time; to speed things along, I put the shortbread in the freezer for 20-30 minutes to help with the cooling process, and again to help cool and firm up the caramel, and again to harden the chocolate top. Love the combo of shortbread, caramel, and chocolate; it is somewhat like a Twix bar! Thank you for sharing your recipe, Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I keep this recipe a secret from everyone, and nobody understands why it is better than any they've ever had. I leave out the almonds on top, and sometimes just use a basic shortbread crust without ground almonds, but whichever way I make it, I have friends and relatives queuing at my door for a square! Gorgeous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
thanks to the person who suggested brown sugar instead of white. i cooked the shortbread a little too long by accident, but it turned out great because instead of twix bars, they're like skor bars (the cookie part is crunchy, not the caramel). didn't have corn or golden syrup, so i substituted honey for it. worked well. thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Hengyang, Hunan Province, China

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
I have made this recipe every year now for 3 years and each year I'm asked to share it. I've made one change - I substitute brown sugar (lightly packed) for the white sugar, which I feel gives it more of a caramel flavor. I haven't had any problems with the caramel setting up, but I do cook it for the full 7 minutes suggested. I use light corn syrup in place of the golden syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
was searching for something close to what i grew up with in scotland. it was close but not exact. this recipe is quite sweet but good! but the carmel didn't settle all the way, so it was quite gooey. for those of you who don't know what GOLDEN SYRUP is, it's a sweet syrup used for cooking. can be found in the international isle of your grocers if they carry items from the UK. might also be available to order online? you will need this to complete the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2003
It did taste similar to a Twix bar, but the caramel just didn't set like I had hoped. It was delicious but very gooey...so gooey that it was messy. The plus is that my friends raved when they tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Scottish Shortbread

So irresistible yet shockingly simple to make.

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States