Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
They were great; the 2nd time I tried it. Do NOT let the caramel boil for five minutes. If you do, you will have a solid hunk of burnt caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Brought these to the office Christmas party and was EXTREMELY popular. My adjustments: Doubled the recipe and used a 9x13" pan; lined the pan with parchment; made the caramel by cooking on low heat, stirring continuously, then once everything was thoroughly mixed, brought to a boil for about 5 minutes while continuing to stir; put the pan in the freezer for a bit before and after the caramel; used dark chocolate instead of milk chocolate and added about 2TB of butter while melting; and shook just a little sea salt over the top of the chocolate before it hardened. My only regret is that the shortbread was EXTREMELY crumbly, which could have been from overmixing, or from not patting it down tightly enough, or from the fact that I didn't poke holes in the top, as suggested by others. But I will DEFINITELY make this again, and refine as I go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Ugh, I think this had potential, but I'm really disappointed that the directions did not specify to cook (boil) the caramel on low, or that it should be stirred while cooking. I did stir while cooking because it was pretty obvious you needed to, but I boiled it on medium, not low, and it was a solid, crunchy layer when it cooled. :( I did read some of the reviews that had tips, but obviously not the ones about cooking the caramel on low or it will get too hard. The shortbread was also crumbly, so IF I make these next time, I will add more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
my boss gave me a score of 9,8 he liked them a lot. So did my friend Andra he gave me a score of 10. I too liked them. I always told my friends homemade food is better then store brought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I am an avid baker. I read through the recipe several times as well as through reviews for tips and tricks. I followed the recipe to a T and I don't know what went wrong. My short bread is crumbling to pieces. I can't get any size square (small or large) to stay in tact. Also, my caramel is hard as a rock! You could chip a tooth on it! I wanted to love this recipe as others did but this is a BIG miss for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
These are delicious. The caramel has a great flavor and texture. I'm afraid to make another batch as they are addictive. Make sure you have someone to share them with. I was afraid that my caramel wouldn't set up if I stirred but I ended up with some dark caramel floaters- so I will stir next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mexico, New York, USA
Living In: Bossier City, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
Delish! I used maple syrup as recommened in other comments and it came out awesome :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Kristin's Nov 18, 2008 notes were helpful (double recipe; parchment paper; bring to a boil on low heat, stirring constantly; cool cookie and don't add caramel while very hot; use warm/hot knife to cut). That said; shortbread is very crumbly. Next time I'll try the crust I use for lemon bars which has a different proportion butter/flour and uses powdered sugar. Its more of a buttery/rich recipe than sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ree Simpson
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was my first dessert like this and I absolutely loved it!!! I will say there are a few steps but it is not anything crazy difficult that requires special tools. Just be patient between steps because it is crucial to let the shortbread cool all the way through. Also I would suggest letting the carmel cool for longer than the recipe says. I did follow the suggestions about the chocolate chips. I put a table spoon of butter and a little milk to make it smoothier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ree Simpson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
Yum! Made these twice now and they are great as written, especially as the caramel layer isn't too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Louiselombard

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Westville, Kwazulu-Natal, South Africa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 563) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States