Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
I have made this recipe many times and here are my tips: Double recipe, line 9x13 pan with parchment paper to easily lift out finished product. Make caramel exactly as written, but low heat with constant stirring. I have never had a problem. Shortbread should be slightly cooled- mine usually goes from the oven to the freezer and sits for about ten minutes before I pour on the caramel. It will not ruin the shortbread, I promise. I use dark chocolate instead of milk to level off the sweetness of the caramel a bit. I microwave the chocolate exactly as written, but add a tablespoon of butter. This absorbs into and smooths out the chocolate much better than milk. Finally, cut squares while chocolate is still just slightly soft with a heated knife. (I run mine under very hot water then dry it off). These are not difficult, it just takes time to get to the finished product. Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
507 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten, a cook from Vancouver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2002
The final product tasted great and was a big hit at a potluck lunch at my school, but, one thing in the recipe could be a bit clearer. It should say to let the shortbread cool quite a bit before putting on the caramel. I let mine cool for 5-10 minutes and then poured on the hot caramel and it all sunk into a big puddle in the middle. That batch had to be scrapped and another made. It turned out fine as I let the shortbread cool overnight. I found them easy to cut as I cut them when the chocolate was still soft. The cookie did crumble a bit, but that was fine. Very yummy, just like what I used to get in London.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2004
I made a terrible mistake with these. I gave them all AWAY!! Oh they tasted wonderful. I sort of wish I had kept a few for myself, although it's better for my waistline that I didn't. :) They were very easy and were delicious. I made a few changes based upon the reviews here. After I baked the crust, I poked holes in it with a fork and let it cool completely. I cooked the caramel over a lower heat and cooked it to the firm ball stage on my candy thermometer. I let that layer cool completely. I melted the chocolate with a little evaporated skim milk to keep it from getting too hard when it set up, and it was perfect. I tried cutting these when it wasn't cold and the cookies crumbled. I put it in the freezer for a bit and then tried to cut it again and the cookies were perfect. Everything came out wonderfully and I'll definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
158 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I followed everyone's posting prior to making this great recipe. Double recipe and cook in 9 by 13 dish. Line pan with foil. Prick shortbread after baking. Cool in freezer between steps and use litte half and half with chocolate. These are super easy and very tastey will make a gain. GREAT RECIPE!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
121 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2004
Fantastic! I made these last night and took the advice of several people and they were incredible. I greased and floured a 9x9 pan and they came out looking just like the picture. It is those of you that used a larger pan that...they came out too thin. I poked holes in the raw shortbread and then cooked for the time stated...then let it cool for only about 10 minutes....then added the carmel mixture (I did add a little extra milk)...let it set up well and then melted the chocolate with a little bit of half and half. I put it in the fridge for about a half hour...scored them and then let them sit in the pan...in the fridge all night. I cut them this morning and all I can say is...WOW!!!! They are incredible!!! The shortbread was prefect...the carmel was nice and thick yet very smooth....no hard in the least and the chocolate just melts in your mouth. It definitely taste similar to a twix bar but so, so much better. Try these....you will be so glad that you did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
This recipe tastes incredibly good, but I found two problems with it. First of all, it is really easy to scorch the caramel filling - you have to stir both constantly and rapidly to avoid that - Because of that I burned my hand so badly it blistered. The other problem with it is that the shortbread tends to fall off of the rest of the bar, making it very messy to eat or serve. However, it tastes incredible so I wouldn't want to discourage anyone from trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This are great!! I've made them many times. Cook the shortbread, let it cool, then place it in the freezer while you are making the caramel. Let the caramel cool in the fridge before putting the chocolate on. Another great thing to do is to line your pan with tinfoil, then you can lift them out to cut them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
Yummy! I found these easy to make and delicious. Brought them in for a potluck and they were gone in 30 minutes! You're going to be tempted to put the pan in the fridge to "set" the caramel but I've found (after doing this a couple of times) that it makes the crust more crumbly and causes them to taste a bit stale even. Be patient - the caramel will set on its own. Also, be sure to melt your MILK chocolate chips in a double boiler as they don't melt quite the same as semi-sweet in the microwave I've found. Definitely cut them small - extremely rich. Love these - make them all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROSNANFAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2003
My co-workers and I loved these. Just like homemade twix bars. Helpful suggestions: They pop right out of the pan if you grease *and* flour the pan. The bottom crust is really easy to make in the food processor; just process into coarse crumbs. The caramel is very good, but you need to watch it the whole time and use low heat. I also found that the recipe is better if you cool the shortbread before putting in the caramel. I only cooled these till the caramel was stiff, so the melted chocolate ran over the sides of the bars, making them more like twix. Oh, and be sure to run a knife around the pan before trying to get them out. Happy cooking and eating!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2003
Wonderful! This is exactly what I was looking for. Super easy, and delicious! The caramel was great, and actually tasted like caramel unlike a lot that is homemade. It kind of tastes like a homemade twix bar. The shortbread was soft and delicious. I substituted half the sugar in the shortbread with Splenda and it still turned out great! For those who had trouble with the caramel and chocolate, you simply have to cook them over low heat and keep stirring! The chocolate is easy to do in the microwave. Just melt for 30 seconds, stir, then 20 more seconds, then stir, and then 10 more seconds, stir and pour. One of my favorites, this is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 522) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States