Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Fantastic recipe. Such a light buttery Carmel. Very easy to make as well. I found adding some evaporated milk to melt with the chocolate chips helped the chocolate topping along to become a smoother silkier recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Fantastic recipe! I've made it a few times in different kitchens, and it is really forgiving. If you aren't in the U.S. this is also one of those rare recipes that doesn't really mind foreign ingredients. No corn syrup? No problem. Different grind of flour? Just make sure the dough feels crumbly but sticks together when pressed. No condensed milk? Boil regular milk with a few spoonfuls of butter - not the same, but it worked. This is also a really flexible base recipe. In the future I may make this with ginger and cardamom in the shortbread and white chocolate on top sprinkled with candied ginger. I'm sure this would be amazing with a rum caramel too. Do NOT use a double boiler for the caramel - it doesn't get hot enough. Stay with your pan, stir often, and pay attention.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Great recipe - easy to do but as one reviewer mentioned, a few details were missing. I cooled the shortbread in the fridge for 10 min while I worked on the caramel. I had used semi-sweet chocolate chips but it scorched too easily, so I finally used 70% baking chocolate which is less temperamental and worked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, aside from adding a tad of butter to the chocolate. It was easy to make, but the end result was disappointing, with the caramel being hard. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This recipe was overpowered by too much butter. It came together nicely and had a good texture, but the amount of butter in it was just too much. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This was really easy to make, simple ingredients and very good. Coworkers loved it too - a huge hit! I agree that dividing it in smaller pieces is wise. It is rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Dangerously delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
Simply amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrie143

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JMKeene
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
These are amazing! I followed advice from other reviews and doubled the recipe in a 9x13 pan, let the shortbread cool completely before pouring the caramel, and used semi-sweet chocolate chips. They are SO rich and delicious, and were a big hit at my office cookie exchange. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
I made these for a family cookie exchange and they tasted awesome! My mistake was my butter was still half froze so I put it in the micro for a few seconds. Big mistake! So the crust was crumbly and had air pockets. I did follow the other suggestions to poke the crust with a fork after cooking, added a Tbl spoon of butter to the chocolate, doubled in a foil lined 9 x 13 and cool in freezer 10 min before pouring on the carmel.Great suggestions. Also I only had 2 cups of chocolate chips so I subed a 1/2 cup of mint filled dark chocolate baking chips. Tasted great and I'll do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 576) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States