Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
Excellent. Just make sure to cool each layer before adding the next, and you're good to go. Easy, sliced well, and super yummy! I added a little bit of coarsely ground sea salt to the top for a little something extra. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Like others, I doubled this recipe, allowed it cool between each layer and used dark chocolate. I lined an 11x13 pan with parchment paper, which made it really easy to take out of the pan. I froze the squares but cut through them when the chocolate was cold but not frozen. It was easy to break into squares when completely frozen and all layers held together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2012
Deceptively simple recipe; dangerously good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2012
My rating is only for the shortbread base, since that's all I used. I rolled it into balls, indented, and baked in order to fill with a different caramel filling. The texture is WONDERFUL - nice and tender. I love it. But I'm not surprised to see so many reviews pointing out problems with the crust disintegrating during cutting. It worked great in cookie form, though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
I shouldn't have made these! Because I can't stop eating them. Even my friend called and said she was thinking about them the next day. I did do as some other reviewers did and put the pan in the freezer between steps. As soon as the shortbread was done I put it in the freezer while I made the caramel; it worked great. Then I put the pan back in the freezer while I melted the chocolate. I used semi-sweet chocolate and did add some vanilla and half-n-half. I put it in the fridge to set up. It was hard to get out of the pan so next time I will use foil or butter the pan to make it easier to remove. I left it out overnight and it is easier to cut today because it softened up. It taste just as good today as it did yesterday. I will be making these A LOT! Thank you, Julia, for an awesome receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
This just did nothing for any of us. It sure sounded great, it was very easy to make but what a surprise when none of us liked it. (5 people - 1 is a kid)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2012
While good in concept, this recipe didn't quite work out for me. I read the reviews and followed their advice, but the cookie came out extremely crumbly and would not hold together. Part of the problem was the force needed to cut the caramel, even with a heated knife, crushed the delicate shortbread. I only managed 3 cuts per heating before the knife destroyed the cookie with the force needed, and even the ones that cut would fall apart half the time when I picked them up to transfer to the tray. I might try this again with a different cookie recipe, one that is a little less delicate, because the caramel came out very good, and I bet it would have worked out well if the base had held together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
These are soo good. I made these just as and came out perfectly. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SDEGRAW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
Made exactly as written came out better than a twix, YUM! Mom won't let me make them but talks about them often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mudchickie
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Crumbled and the layers fell apart. With how time consuming it was to make, expected a better cookie. Save yourself the time and buy a twix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States