Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Excellent. I didn't have sweetened condensed milk so I mixed the following together to use as a substitute: 1 egg, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 tsp vanilla, 1 Tbsp flour, 1/4 tsp baking powder and 1/8 tsp salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2014
This was fabulous! I did put extra chocolate on the top; next time I will also add more caramel and put pecans in it. The only problem is that the shortbread base tends to crumble when eaten, but that is ok since it is soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
It was an incredible melt-in-mouth one bite! I added a pinch of salt in the crust while mixing it and a few drops of vanilla essence. And the result was marvelous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
So, spend time getting it right with the caramel. Spend the same time melting the chocolate. Totally ruined chocolate with microwave just to save a couple min. Good otherwise
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glenn Collier

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
Boiling the caramel is essential to achieve the slightly bitter flavor of real caramel. Otherwise you're just making a layer of sweet brown sugar. I would suggest using low heat to allow the step 3 ingredients to combine evenly, then boil for the recommended time. Also, I used bittersweet chocolate for a richer flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
Okay but not as big a hit in our family as the Chunkey Cheesecake Brownies I made the same day. Just seemed to be missing something or too much cookie maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jancamp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beamsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
They're now my favourite dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
First of all, I'm not sure how to rate this because much of the advice I went with was from other reviews, not the recipe itself. I froze the shortbread while I made the caramel. I stirred the caramel constantly once it came to a boil. Second, I always want a temperature when I make candy. There is no temp on this recipe. Third, my husband--the sweets king--said that the taste lacked complexity. And that's after I salted the shortbread and the caramel. I would definitely add some Maldon flakes to the top, but beyond that I'm not sure where I would go. Crushed pretzel on the top? Orange in the shortbread or caramel? Peanuts in the caramel? Hm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Followed instructions and it worked perfectly. Omitted corn syrup because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I just made this and it is is the fridge. OH MY THEY TASTE GOOD!!!! I think this is a great recipe! I do have a few tips before trying it though. It is better to double the recipe with a bit more butter in the shortbread . And to wash your pans and pots right away! It is a choclatey caramely job. If you let it sit it will be like glue! So as soon as you finish with it ,soak it in soapy water then wash. Also let it cool befor adding the chocolate. It is very good! Good luck :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makenna shuter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 563) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States