Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by MickeyRenee
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
These bars are excellent! I added a little more butter to the shortbread base to avoid the crumbly consistency that some people complained about. The filling was divine and I can see myself using it in other recipes. I used white chocolate for the topping and it tasted even better than a white chocolate Twix bar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MickeyRenee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by footballgrl16
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I modified this using another recipe that I had wanted to try, and they came out great!! I used 1 stick of butter, 1/4 tsp salt, 1/2 tsp vanilla and 1 c of flour for the shortbread. Make sure this layer is completely cool before topping with caramel. I cheated the caramel layer and melted 1 14oz bag of caramels with 2 T of cream. I let this cool and then set completely (about an hour). Then, to solve the problem of the shortbread and caramel separating, i cut my pan in half and then sliced into about 1" piece logs and dipped them in the melted chocolate. I got about 20 bars from this recipe. These were a pretty good recplication of twix bars, and because i cut back on the amount of butter in the shortbread, I think they had just the right texture. They impressed my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by footballgrl16

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
FANTASTIC! I love traditional shortbread with just caramel, so I omit the chocolate. These are easy to make and taste great. I brought them to the office for a treat and since then get requests to bring them again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2011
I must made these this evening. Fantastic recipe. My only substitution was that I didn't have any corn syrup so I used agave nectar instead - can't tell the difference. I melted the chocolate on the stove for a glossier look. Will make again. Oh and or those that found the shortbread too crumbly. You need to be sure the butter is well distributed and pack the crumbs tightly into the pan. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
These came out absolutely delicious. Like a commented before me suggested, I put the baked shortbread base in the freezer before topping it with caramel. I don't think I'll be able to eat a Twix bar again without wishing it was one of these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
This is ridiculously amazing (IT REALLY IS), and easy. Read all the comments but stuck to the recipe, though I cooled at the shortbread stage, and at the caramel stage before spreading chocolate. I think if you are going to TOTALLY cool in between stages, at least SERVE at room temperature to ensure the layers don't separate when you bite into one. I think I just gained ten pounds and STILL I am making more. Thanks for making me fat!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by runsanity

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2011
The family loved this - and it was pretty simple to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2011
These are soooooooo good!!! I made them over the holidays with fabulous results. Everyone that tried them absolutely raved over them. They looked great too. My only advice is to allow enough time to let the layers cool before adding the next, especially between the shortbread and caramel. Yum!! I can't wait to make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
Definitely put in the Candy category. This is not a cookie and seems like a fat cousin of a Twix bar on steroids. It was very rich and way too sweet for us. I really liked the caramel and plan to use it for other desserts and pies. I would also suggest using the Williams-Sonoma Scotch Shortbread recipe for those who found the "crust" to be dry and crumbling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Estee Fraser (Pinchasin)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA
Living In: Mililani, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
So Good! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 527) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States