Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
YUM! I halved (loaf pan), parchment, freezer 10m between layers, easy peasy. I did have to bake the shortbread quite a bit longer. For the chocolate I did semi-sweet with coconut oil in micro, this always works beautifully. Next time I will double the caramel layer though. I also added a touch of cinnamon and also salt to the caramel and will do that again next time. Or I'll sprinkle the top with sea salt...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starlet

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Absolutely delicious! So rich you only need a tiny square!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
I had a ton of requests for this after making it. I too used a 9x13 pan and lined with parchment paper before baking the crust, cooled my crust in the freezer for half hour before pouring the caramel on. I used good quality dark chocolate wafers and melted them with a tsp of shortening. To cut, use the biggest and sharpest knife you have. I had no problems with crumbling. This year I am going to add a layer of peanut butter/icing sugar mix on the crust, freeze and then add a caramel and chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Excellent says it all! Make as written, no changes necessary. The crust balances the sweetness of the caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
very good. make sure to cut small pieces. It's very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
Just remember to stir the caramel mixture while it's boiling, and not over too high a heat, or it can burn! Otherwise, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Followed the recipe to a T but the shortbread fell away from the caramel and chocolate layer! Made a double batch so the whole thing is ruined. I've made another recipe version of millionare's shortbread and it came out fine before. This recipe was a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
These were very easy to make. I lined my pan with parchment paper which made it super easy to get them out. The only problem I had, and I think it was my error was having a hard time getting the chocolate to melt to the perfect consistency to spread over the caramel! Other than that these little jewels tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AVAMARIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Watson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
AWESOME!!! Made them for a friend in the hospital, and I had a hard time not eating them! They were a big hit for everyone visiting her. Definately adding this to my holiday cookie list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 536) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States