Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2011
AWESOME!!! Made them for a friend in the hospital, and I had a hard time not eating them! They were a big hit for everyone visiting her. Definately adding this to my holiday cookie list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
These were perfect! Even my daughter, who never eats desserts liked them. My hubby went nuts. When I put the caramel on I stuck them in the fridge because I was short on time. I tried my hardest to wait for the chocolate to harden. They were a bit gooey when we first tried them and I thought they was too much chocolate. Once they chilled completely (I kept them in the fridge) they were evenly flavored. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Victoria68
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
I've been making these for many years and I definitely agree with the other reviewers about letting the shortbread completely cool before adding the caramel and then letting that completely cool before adding the chocolate. It can turn into a mess otherwise! I prefer them in a 9 x 13 pan just because they're so rich but they are extremely good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Victoria68

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
These are unbelievable! Even better than my mother's! I made them for a party, and doubled the recipe, but I wish I'd kept a few for our family because they were irresistible! It's a time-consuming process, but well worth it if you want something a little bit special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SHELLBELL
Reviewed: May 16, 2011
YUM!I also stirred the caramel mixture constantly until it reached soft ball stage in a cool cup of water, and I used white sugar because thats all I had. I also used candy coating on top instead of chocolate chips. = D thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELLBELL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Libby, Montana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 1, 2011
These were really good. The caramel tastes a little funny on its own, but in the bar it was rich and tasty. My chocoalte chips were melting a little grainy so I added some butter and cream which made it into a soft ganache layer instead of a harder chocolate layer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lessssy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
A very tempting idea, but the chocolate on top melts all over your fingers and it's tricky getting the caramel exactly right. I followed the directions exactly and my caramel got too hard. I wish I'd used my candy thermometer, rather than the directions. The bottom layer was quite thick, too, and it crumbled a lot. Again, great idea, but it just wasn't a good result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
Excellent! Allow time to cool in the fridge before cutting, and cut them into 1inch squares because they are very rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Very close to what I remember. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
This was so decadent and delicious. I'm not sure the caramel portion of the square turned out right but it was good just the same. I doubled the recipe as suggested by past reviewers and used a 9x13 pan, but I'm ended up with a lot of shortbread bottom and little layers of chocolate and caramel. Next time I might tweak the measurements on the shortbread so I don't end up with such a large amount. Sticking the shortbread in the freezer/fridge was definitely helpful but make sure you stick it back in the fridge after adding the caramel and leave it in there for a sufficient amount of time for the caramel to REALLY firm up before adding the warm chocolate. End product is yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sah90504

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States