Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2014
They're now my favourite dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
First of all, I'm not sure how to rate this because much of the advice I went with was from other reviews, not the recipe itself. I froze the shortbread while I made the caramel. I stirred the caramel constantly once it came to a boil. Second, I always want a temperature when I make candy. There is no temp on this recipe. Third, my husband--the sweets king--said that the taste lacked complexity. And that's after I salted the shortbread and the caramel. I would definitely add some Maldon flakes to the top, but beyond that I'm not sure where I would go. Crushed pretzel on the top? Orange in the shortbread or caramel? Peanuts in the caramel? Hm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RealisticChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
Followed instructions and it worked perfectly. Omitted corn syrup because I didn't have any.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
I just made this and it is is the fridge. OH MY THEY TASTE GOOD!!!! I think this is a great recipe! I do have a few tips before trying it though. It is better to double the recipe with a bit more butter in the shortbread . And to wash your pans and pots right away! It is a choclatey caramely job. If you let it sit it will be like glue! So as soon as you finish with it ,soak it in soapy water then wash. Also let it cool befor adding the chocolate. It is very good! Good luck :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by makenna shuter

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I have made this a couple times, first time according to recipe but doubled, the second time I made I added chopped peanuts next to caramel layer and pressed in to make stick, then cooled. After cooled I removed from parchment paper, reused the same piece and added melted chocolate, replaced the entire cookie layer on top of melted chocolate and topped with more melted chocolate, returned to fridge to set, cut into squares. More like "oh henry" meets "twix" thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
Excellent recipe as is but I can never leave well enough alone! I increased the chocolate to 3/4 of a cup milk and 1/2 cup semi-sweet--made a very rich milk chocolate layer that tasted yummylicious! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bruce Bower
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2014
Drool...smack...mmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
Yumm!! Made these for my family today. Huge hit!! Will defiantly make them again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jann Shawn Meadows

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2014
Yummy treat! I lined my pan with parchment paper. Not too difficult to make, however, even with the temp turned down you need to continuously stir caramel as it boils or it will burn. I used dark brown sugar which isn't as pretty as the light sugar. I will make again, my husband and his office will request I'm sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzona

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
I made this cookie recipe with some minor variations when I lived in England 20 yrs ago. This recipe is a bit easier and quite delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States