Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Absolutely delish, Julia! Thanks for this easy, decadent dessert that's perfect as is. I made sure to keep stirring as I boiled the scrumptious, thick, Caramel mixture or it would burn; then really whipped with a spoon as Julia instructed after it's off the burner. Also, please check oven time with Shortbread layer as mine was done before 20 mins; ovens vary. Did my Shortbread layer in the food processor & worked fine. The Milk Chocolate layer was REALLY a nice touch! This was a hit for Mom's Birthday treat: a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GirlNextDoor
Living In: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
Grandma even likes them! Now that's a compliment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
I discovered these at the family Christmas party and was instantly hooked. The shortbread is buttery and not too sweet and the caramel is creamy and not too gooey, all under a soft shell of chocolate. These things are to die for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
good, very rich
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
Love this recipe! The only substitution I made was to use semi sweet chocolate chips instead of milk chocolate. This reduced the sweet factor but they were absolutely scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Desaiah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
These are always a favorite in our family at the holidays! Only change I make is the shortbread often needs a tad bit more time in the oven. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
The caramel came out nice and soft, I followed the instructions exactly. I took the advice of others and lined the pan with parchment and I let each layer cool completely, no problems cutting the bars. The only thing I'd criticize is that the cookie base was bland and crumbly. I think I'd try to fix the base and use better chocolate for the top rather than chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2012
I made these last night while I had 3 boys under 5 running around...i was sure I was going to mess something up! They are actually really easy and not as fussy as I thought they would be! I would say to poke holes in the raw shortbread and to bake it for 25 mins instead of 20, but that might just be my oven. After boiling the caramel mixture, I put it into my kitchen aid mixer and used the whisk attachment, and whisked it on high for a couple of minutes. The chocolate layer was a little more work, I wouldn't recommend doing it in the microwave, I did mine in a pan on low, added a couple Tbs. of sweetened condensed milk, a little butter and some half and half. They turned out amazing...the hardest part was waiting for them to cool and set up so I could cut into them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
The caramel actually came out quite fantastic, but the shortbread cookie tasted very dry and bland. I am defiantly going to try this recipe again but I will try to spruce it up with some macadamia nuts or pecans and perhaps add some vanilla to the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2012
These are so yummy! They kind of remind me of Twix. I didnt make my own caramel because I had a bag of caramels to use so I melted those with a little butter and spread that over the shortbread. Chocolate, caramel and shortbread heaven. Thanks for sharing! These will be a constant on my Christmas cookie list for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 517) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States