Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
These were easy to make and yummy. I did use dark instead of milk chocolate to cut the sweetness. Maybe add a few chopped nuts on top for variety. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This was yummy. For some reason my carmel dried very hard. It almost tasted like toffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jules mcdaniel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grass Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
It was pretty good, but the caramel to shortbread ratio is off. If you follow the recipe, you'll get a super thin caramel layer. I suggest doubling the caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Rogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
Had trouble with the chocolate melting landed up putting chocolate frosting on after is was cold.If you add pecans they would taste like candy turtles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Stempkowski

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Very delicious and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Center is rock hard and burnt - horrible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Absolutely love it!! I followed the directions completely as written and I let the shortbread cool. Great! We say *thumbs up
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I made this for the first time with my 11 year old twins for a party we were attending that night. The only thing we did wrong was we didn't let the carmel sit long enough, (so it wasn't thick when we spread it,and it should have been chilled for longer. Otherwise, they were a huge hit and eveyone loved them. We will make themm again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
I tried this recipe as written and it is delicious. I have a similar recipe that I have used for years which is easier. I use same ingredients. Place shortbread crust in pan, cook carmel portion on top of stove making sure that you stir and not burn on low to medium heat. When it thickens, pour on top of uncooked crust (chopped walnuts optional if you want to add to top of crust before adding carmel mixture). Bake like recipe calls for. After it bakes, add chocolate chips on top of crust and put back in oven for 2-3 minutes until chocolate softens. Remove from oven and spread chocolate. Wait until cools, cut into bars and then place in fridge so chocolate hardens. Ready to serve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
very disappointed - followed the original recipe - could not cut - caramel was too hard
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 567) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States