Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I am a very experienced cook and baker. The caramel was very good. I lined the pan with non stick foil and it came right out. Upon cutting them, the shortbread crust just fell apart. It tasted very good, but because of the problem with the crust crumbling I probably won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
Loved it. Easy recipe. Made me look like a superstar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
HUGE hit for my holiday cookie extravaganza. Make sure to let them cool completely before cutting, so much easier! Next time, I will probably stick the shortbread batter back in the fridge for a few minutes before pressing into the pan. Makes the butter a little easier to work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by APT1171

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Fantastic recipe. Such a light buttery Carmel. Very easy to make as well. I found adding some evaporated milk to melt with the chocolate chips helped the chocolate topping along to become a smoother silkier recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
Fantastic recipe! I've made it a few times in different kitchens, and it is really forgiving. If you aren't in the U.S. this is also one of those rare recipes that doesn't really mind foreign ingredients. No corn syrup? No problem. Different grind of flour? Just make sure the dough feels crumbly but sticks together when pressed. No condensed milk? Boil regular milk with a few spoonfuls of butter - not the same, but it worked. This is also a really flexible base recipe. In the future I may make this with ginger and cardamom in the shortbread and white chocolate on top sprinkled with candied ginger. I'm sure this would be amazing with a rum caramel too. Do NOT use a double boiler for the caramel - it doesn't get hot enough. Stay with your pan, stir often, and pay attention.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Great recipe - easy to do but as one reviewer mentioned, a few details were missing. I cooled the shortbread in the fridge for 10 min while I worked on the caramel. I had used semi-sweet chocolate chips but it scorched too easily, so I finally used 70% baking chocolate which is less temperamental and worked better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, aside from adding a tad of butter to the chocolate. It was easy to make, but the end result was disappointing, with the caramel being hard. Would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
This recipe was overpowered by too much butter. It came together nicely and had a good texture, but the amount of butter in it was just too much. I would not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
This was really easy to make, simple ingredients and very good. Coworkers loved it too - a huge hit! I agree that dividing it in smaller pieces is wise. It is rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Dangerously delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 529) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Melt-in-Your-Mouth Shortbread

These shortbread cookies are simple yet elegant, and make a great gift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States