Caramel Shortbread Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2015
I made these for work in a throw away foil cake pan and they turned out wonderfully, everyone raved about them. I tried to make them again in a glass dish and they needed a lot more time to cool between layers, which I failed to do, so these turned out very crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
Delicious! The only problem I had was that the crust crumbles a lot when i cut the squares maybe I did something wrong but I don't get what it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emilie Morin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2015
This is a sinful delight!! I could eat the whole pan. I used the tip of milk chocolate and only slightly cooling before cutting! Soo good. I gave it five stars and I really meant it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I love these! They come out great. Super tasty and a real crowd pleaser. I will continue making these for years to come. Sometimes when I make these I add a pinch of salt for more flavour. To avoid burning/scorching stir the caramel constantly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by cooking with daddy.
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2014
I made this. Instead of melting the chocolate I just dropped the chocolate on top added chopped peanuts and score bits. Taste amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
They were great; the 2nd time I tried it. Do NOT let the caramel boil for five minutes. If you do, you will have a solid hunk of burnt caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
Brought these to the office Christmas party and was EXTREMELY popular. My adjustments: Doubled the recipe and used a 9x13" pan; lined the pan with parchment; made the caramel by cooking on low heat, stirring continuously, then once everything was thoroughly mixed, brought to a boil for about 5 minutes while continuing to stir; put the pan in the freezer for a bit before and after the caramel; used dark chocolate instead of milk chocolate and added about 2TB of butter while melting; and shook just a little sea salt over the top of the chocolate before it hardened. My only regret is that the shortbread was EXTREMELY crumbly, which could have been from overmixing, or from not patting it down tightly enough, or from the fact that I didn't poke holes in the top, as suggested by others. But I will DEFINITELY make this again, and refine as I go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
I stirred while cooking because I thought it was it was pretty obvious you needed to, but I boiled it on medium, not low, and it was a solid, crunchy layer when it cooled. The shortbread was also crumbly, so IF I make these next time, I will add more butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2014
my boss gave me a score of 9,8 he liked them a lot. So did my friend Andra he gave me a score of 10. I too liked them. I always told my friends homemade food is better then store brought
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2014
I am an avid baker. I read through the recipe several times as well as through reviews for tips and tricks. I followed the recipe to a T and I don't know what went wrong. My short bread is crumbling to pieces. I can't get any size square (small or large) to stay in tact. Also, my caramel is hard as a rock! You could chip a tooth on it! I wanted to love this recipe as others did but this is a BIG miss for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 577) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Shortbread Supreme

See how to make the ultimate Christmas cookie.

Chef John's Rosemary Shortbread Cookies

These cookies are perfect for tea time or frankly, any time!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States