Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Recipe is simple - but it doesn't have the same rich flavor as "true" caramel sauce. Making caramel sauce from scratch is soooo much easier than babysitting a can for 3 hours! What you need: 1 cup Sugar, 6 Tablespoons Butter, 1/2 cup Heavy Cream. Have the butter and cream measured out and on hand when you begin. Whisk 1 cup of sugar in a heavy saucepan over medium-high heat until sugar dissolves. Once the sugar starts boiling - do not whisk just swirl the pan. When the sugar turns an amber color add the butter and swirl until melted. Remove pan from heat and count to 3 - then slowly pour the cream into the pan, swirling until incorporated - then whisk until mixture is smooth. Pour into mason (glass) jars and allow to cool. Can be kept refrigerated for up to 2 weeks. Easily done in less than 10 minutes and tastes much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
350 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
I first reviewed this a couple of years ago, but I wanted to post again in response to the scare-mongering... Ok, so my experience is this: I have boiled DOZENS and DOZENS of cans of condensed milk, and I can assure anyone that IT IS COMPLETELY SAFE TO DO SO. My only advice is 1. Make sure you keep topping up the water, and do not let the pan boil dry. 2. Be careful when opening the can: I wrap the can in an old towel, because some of the very hot caramel sauce does ooze out of the puncture hole a little. By the way, the 'sauce' will turn out very very thick and gloopy - NOT a syrupy pourable consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2001
I don't know if it's a good idea to leave the lid on the can when boiling. I've been doing this for at least 10 years when making my caramel pie and have never left the lids on. Better to be safe than sorry, remove the lids...makes it easy to stir around to make sure all the milk is cooked properly as well as preventing unwanted pressure building up inside the can with the boiling water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
People, People, People. My greatgrandmother, grandmother, mother and now myself have been boiling Eagle Brand Condensed milk for a century and half. Some reviews said that the cans were exploding, easy resolution. 1. Do NOT open the can or puncture holes in it.in any way 2. Get a large pot of water boiling. 3. Once water is boiling, take off milk labels and put cans into water (I do 4 at a time as it will keep on the shelf for a few months) 4. Turn temperature down to simmering & allow to cook for 2 to 3 hours (the longer you cook it the darker/thicker it will be) No one in my family has ever turned he cans. 5. after cooking for alloted time, turn off heat and remove pan from the stove to allow to cool, & then just walk away, do NOT attempt to drain the water or remove the can or open the can at all. 6. You MUST allow the cans & water to cool, before opening the can up. This will prevent the exploding can dilemma for some of the reviewers! The milk can also be done on a campfire (which I have done at least a dozen times or more-allow it to cool in your cast iron dutch oven the same way you do in a pan on your stove top). It is an amazing treat at camp (the boyscouts love it). This comes out thick enough to spread & we have been eating on sliced apples for as long as I can remember-delish. Add a scoop to a pan with a little heavy cream & heat for an amazing caramel sauce...As far as the babysitting comments go...watching your food usually goes hand in hand with cooking :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foxtell8

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Altoona, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
save time do this in your crockpot no need to babysit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
I agree about the waste of time and energy for this, and I have an alternative. I love this stuff so much I'll eat it right out of the can as dessert in itself. But if I want to heat it, I make two notches in the can and put it on my top oven rack for 20 minutes or so at around 350. I'm not sure if this is a whole lot safer, but it seems to work alright and I just carefully take the thing out with oven mitts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2005
Do be careful if you try this method. I checked the Eagle Brand website, and found three methods for making their Homemade Caramel, similar to this recipe. They also said "For safety reasons, heating the unopened can (an old cooking method) is NOT recommended."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2006
I had worked in a canning factory for years and seen my share of sealed cans explode. Hot, warm and cooled, doesn't make a difference. When they explode it can be dangerous and messy. Loud too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine Mueller

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mishicot, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This is good. It's definitely got more of a butterscotch taste than caramel, but it's nice. It's not really a sauce; I used it to fill the bottom of a pie before topping with bananas and cinnamon. As for the safety factor - keep in mind that nearly ALL canned foods are cooked inside the sealed can at high temps in order to pasteurize the food inside. Some foods actually go into the can raw and are cooked during this process (the noodles in Campbell's chicken noodle soup, for example). It's perfectly safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
I was recommended a similar way of making caramel where you take the lid off the tin and stand the can in boiling water 3/4 of the way up the sides for a few minutes. I think this way might be better for people who are concerned about time or the sealed tin. You would also be able to see how fast it was caramelising and be able to judge the time for yourself. It's apparently good for camping if you want caramel on your porridge in the mornings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XZIGALIA

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Timaru, Canterbury, New Zealand
Living In: Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States