Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This is how I make "Dulce De Leche" (after cooking I sprinkle in some Vanilla and Brandy). If in a rush I use one of other reviewers suggestion but putting the cans in a pressure cooker covers with water and cook up to 45 minute. If not in a rush, I use another reviewers suggestion and use a crock pot/slow cooker on high and cook for 3-3.5 hours (an hour less if you use boiling water), no need to worry about water running dry. You can put the very hot cans in a cold water bath to hasten cooling. Super easy & super good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Udo Rosenberg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibsons, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I made three cans of this last night. I used a stock pot with a lid, never had to top it off. I used PET milk and two generic cans from Wally world. I let them cool overnight and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
4 stars because it is incomplete!! This was the FIRST step of the recipe I have been looking for. The SECOND step is to, AFTER allowing the can to cool until you can handle it, add 4 oz. of cream cheese and 1/2 - 1 tsp. of vanilla (depending on your taste). Also, I heated the can in my crock pot, so the heat was more even and I didn't have to "babysit" it as much. I started with hot water and simmered on high for 2 1/2 hours. It was better than any caramel sauce I could ever buy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I have to agree with Caroline C. I use this method every year for Caramel Apples on Halloween. The kids love it and I nor have they ever gotten sick from this. I grew up with my mother doing the same thing and I am still living.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Southern-Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2008
I have beeen making this for years, I boil my in the pressure cooker for 45 minutes with the water level above the can, turns out perfect every time. Once cooled, I stir it in the can to soften it before using it as a topping on chocolate cake, sprinkled with cocoanut! My family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
This isn't caramel. I'm spanish, my grandmother has been making this for over 50 years, and her mother before that. It's basicly "dulce de leche" or "manjar" as it's called in my country. Traditionally it's made in a pot stirring constantly, but this is much easier to make. Also, I will add that I nor my grandmother have ever turned the can and it has never scortched nor has it exploded. As long as it's completly submerged in water, there is no need to turn it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Recipe is simple - but it doesn't have the same rich flavor as "true" caramel sauce. Making caramel sauce from scratch is soooo much easier than babysitting a can for 3 hours! What you need: 1 cup Sugar, 6 Tablespoons Butter, 1/2 cup Heavy Cream. Have the butter and cream measured out and on hand when you begin. Whisk 1 cup of sugar in a heavy saucepan over medium-high heat until sugar dissolves. Once the sugar starts boiling - do not whisk just swirl the pan. When the sugar turns an amber color add the butter and swirl until melted. Remove pan from heat and count to 3 - then slowly pour the cream into the pan, swirling until incorporated - then whisk until mixture is smooth. Pour into mason (glass) jars and allow to cool. Can be kept refrigerated for up to 2 weeks. Easily done in less than 10 minutes and tastes much better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
373 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Let me just say it is VERY dangerous to heat up ANYTHING in an unopened can! Curious to see what some were talking about, however, I decided to try this recipe. While waiting the 3 HOURS for this "caramel sauce" to develop, it reminded me of when we were kids and we got the bright idea of heating up a can of Spagettios in this fashion. To this day, we're still thanking our lucky stars that none of us were near the stove when the lid burst off of that can, shooting hot spaghetti all over the kitchen. It took a week to clean it all up, and 25 years later, we can still see the dent on Mama's ceiling from that flying lid as we stand there shaking our heads in amazement. Based on the poor results I had with this recipe, I think 3 hours was a terrible waste of time and fuel for a few ounces of thin, gloppy "caramel sauce" that really can't be used for much. I think I'll just continue buying my caramel sauce retail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BERMYROSE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
This is good. It's definitely got more of a butterscotch taste than caramel, but it's nice. It's not really a sauce; I used it to fill the bottom of a pie before topping with bananas and cinnamon. As for the safety factor - keep in mind that nearly ALL canned foods are cooked inside the sealed can at high temps in order to pasteurize the food inside. Some foods actually go into the can raw and are cooked during this process (the noodles in Campbell's chicken noodle soup, for example). It's perfectly safe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I have used this for years. It also makes a great pie. graham cracker crust, caramel custard, sliced fresh strawberries and bananas, and top with cool whip. delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Honey Grove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States