Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This turns out amazing! Make sure to use Eagle Brand sweetened condensed milk for a smooth & thick consistency. When I used Carnation Brand, the texture was a little grany, like half melted sugar. Also, I boiled an extra hour (total of 4 hours) to make sure it was really thick & camelized. I use this on apple slices, poured over a hot apple pie, or over icecream. Also makes a great addition to gift baskets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misskatie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Valley Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
This is NOT a true caramel sauce, my thought is that this is a simplified version of dulce de leche. The method couldn't be any easier. Some reviews indicated trouble w/ cans exploding, well that issue is easily solved. 1. Do NOT open the can or puncture it in any way. 2. Set a large pot of water to boiling. 3. Once water is boiling, insert cans (making sure to remove the outer label) 4. Turn temperature to where it's gently simmering and allow to simmer for 2-3 hours (the longer you cook it the darker/thicker it will be) 5. Once time has elapsed, turn off heat and remove pan to allow to cool, and walk away, do NOT attempt to drain the water or remove the can or open the can at all. 6. You MUST allow the cans & water to cool, before opening the can up. Hopefully this will prevent the exploding can episodes for some of the reviewers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
mine exploded :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
We used to make this on our hippy trip in the 70's!! We boiled it in the tin for an hour then scooped it into a graham wafer crust then covered the top with sliced bananas - yum! Thanks for the blast from the past!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
This is a really easy way to make arequipe or dulce de leche, the traditional way takes hours and hours of constant stirring, but with this, I only had to put more water in about twice. Tip: Since different brands of sweetened condensed milk have different densities, they'll need different cooking times; if the sweetened condensed milk is very dense and compact, it'll need a shorter cooking time. Obviously you can't open the can to check the density before cooking, so knowing your brand comes in handy. :) PS: didn't have any trouble with the unopened can.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
This is a good recipe for Dulce de Leche (sometimes called Cajeta) But it is NOT a caramel sauce, it tastes nothing like caramel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katie_luvs2bake!
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
Actually, what you get from this is called manjar; that is sold here in chile. It is not the same as caramel, which is called caramelo in spanish. Caramel is more liquid while manjar is rich and thick. if you like the rich taste of this (which is very good) simply add milk to it(in a saucepan over medium-low heat) until it is the consistancy that you like. you can also make a mousse hope this helps! use one can of manjar with 3 cups whipping cream + 1 tbsp confectioners sugar. whip the cream and add the sugar. fold in manjar This is not a dangerous recipe as long as the pan always has water, it has been called a dangerous method because some people tend get distracted because it takes so much time. as long as you babysitt it .. it will be fine i give it a 5 because it has great taste, even better than some of the manjar sold in chile. try it with toasted bread, apples, graham crackers or try the torta de hojas here.. yum! Update: I cant believe some people say this doesnt taste good or it was a waste of ingredients!!! you can make sooo many things with manjar. its a thicker buttery milky type of caramel sauce. when you make it this way its thicker than the ones that they sell in chile or argentina but its just a matter of adding whipping cream as I said. You really wont regret this! I will upload a photo of manjar that is sold in chile so you can see the thickness that you will get because the one that i buy is very thick as i like to spread it on bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katie_luvs2bake!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Frederick, Maryland, USA
Living In: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This is how I make "Dulce De Leche" (after cooking I sprinkle in some Vanilla and Brandy). If in a rush I use one of other reviewers suggestion but putting the cans in a pressure cooker covers with water and cook up to 45 minute. If not in a rush, I use another reviewers suggestion and use a crock pot/slow cooker on high and cook for 3-3.5 hours (an hour less if you use boiling water), no need to worry about water running dry. You can put the very hot cans in a cold water bath to hasten cooling. Super easy & super good either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gibsons, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I made three cans of this last night. I used a stock pot with a lid, never had to top it off. I used PET milk and two generic cans from Wally world. I let them cool overnight and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
4 stars because it is incomplete!! This was the FIRST step of the recipe I have been looking for. The SECOND step is to, AFTER allowing the can to cool until you can handle it, add 4 oz. of cream cheese and 1/2 - 1 tsp. of vanilla (depending on your taste). Also, I heated the can in my crock pot, so the heat was more even and I didn't have to "babysit" it as much. I started with hot water and simmered on high for 2 1/2 hours. It was better than any caramel sauce I could ever buy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 83) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States