Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I've made this tons of times. Usually for a fridge tart, but once in a while (for a real treat) I use this as a filling in chocolate cake. Believe me - it takes even chocolate cake to a higher level of devinity..... I usually boil for about 2 hours, don't bother with the turning of the can and after boiling I do remove from water with a slotted ladle and let the can cool completely before using. Left overs always disappear quickly by spoon to tummy.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
as a russian american i grew up with this and have never witnessed a can explode and only heard one story of a can exploding and thats all if u get a big pot of water where the water takes forever to boil out u wont need to babysit it as much as long as its covered in plenty of water its all good the one story happened during a teenage party when ppl became preoccupied with other things also the longer it cooks the more we like it its awesome for dipping apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenachka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This is good but it is not caramel, it's dulce de leche. You can also cook it in the pressure cooker in about 25 minutes instead of three hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
As some reviewers said it's not quite a pure caramel taste but it is super yummy. I did a bit of research and decided to try it in my crockpot. I just covered it with water and set the crockpot to low for 8 hours. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I wouldn't want to use this as a caramel sauce for something like ice cream. However, my mother used to make this for another purpose. She would take vanilla wafers and spoon a little of the sauce over each one and then dip the top in shredded coconut. It makes fabulous cookies that are very impressive for something like a shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This worked great for me! It came out creamy and delicious. Did not taste like butterscotch to me at all...had no issues with cooking in the can. I never let it go past a simmer once the water originally boiled...definitely a keeper recipe...thanks to whoever posted this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newark Valley, New York, USA
Living In: Blountville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I just HAD to try this after reading all the fears of blowing up cans etc. I followed the directions to a T. I just simmered it slow and made sure the can was constantly covered with boiling water. I let it cool in the hot water as suggested. Presto... a deeeeeelish caramel like sauce for ANYTHING. It's not really caramel for real...but it's rich enough and sweet enough to be it's twin sister. : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dung Beetle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
wow!! Thank you for this easy carmel sauce! As Burger Chef and Jeff used to say... Unbelievea-burg-able!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chasse

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LBFONG
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I needed caramel sauce for a brownie recipe and was looking for a traditional sugar, butter and cream recipe. The brownie recipe calls for Smuckers caramel sauce, but I didn't want to make a trip to the store. In my search I came upon this recipe. Since I had a can of Borden's sweetened condensed milk sitting in the cupboard, I decided to try it first. I followed the recipe to the letter and boy was I suprised how delicious it came out. I've read reviews of this stuff over the years and I see what all of the hoopla is all about. Mine came out thick like pudding with a delicious deep caramel taste and color after three hours of cooking. I started dipping things in it like nuts and kettle chips! I can see how people talk about eating spoonfuls of this stuff. I had to put it away before it was all gone. It will work out perfect for my brownie recipe thinned out with a bit of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBFONG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
I make caramel the same way to make banna caramel pie, except when I make the caramel I put a facecloth at the bottom of the pot so that the caramel dosen't burn when it's touching the can.. I also keep mine at a rolling boil To make banna caramel pie you make a gram cracker crust, fill it with the caramel sauce from this recipe, then top with whip cream and a light dusting of cinamon..and wala :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 81) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States