Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Do NOT do this!! the can exploaded!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChaoticLadybug
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
PERFECT. Not a thing not to like about this recipe. It's simple (and safe) to prepare and it taste excellent!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
This isn't a caramel sauce recipe. It's a recipe for something called Dulce De Leche, used by us hispanic people for cakes and pastries. Caramel sauce is a totally different thing. However, this is definitely a delicious recipe I've known since I was a child. You can even serve it with crackers, bread and-my favourite-PANCAKES!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
thank you Lorri and thank you CandyH. Love the stuff and I think it tastes much more like carmel than butterscotch which I'm not that fond of. I put 2 cans in my crock pot and cooked for 4 hours on high. I then did as CandyH directed and added 8 oz of cream cheese and 2 teas of vanilla and a pinch of salt to cut sweetness (never heard of that before but thought I'd give it a try. I feel like I'm getting away with something to be able to make such a delicious sauce with so little effort. I plan on drizzling over cheesecake for Christmas dessert. Thank you both!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
I've made this tons of times. Usually for a fridge tart, but once in a while (for a real treat) I use this as a filling in chocolate cake. Believe me - it takes even chocolate cake to a higher level of devinity..... I usually boil for about 2 hours, don't bother with the turning of the can and after boiling I do remove from water with a slotted ladle and let the can cool completely before using. Left overs always disappear quickly by spoon to tummy.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
as a russian american i grew up with this and have never witnessed a can explode and only heard one story of a can exploding and thats all if u get a big pot of water where the water takes forever to boil out u wont need to babysit it as much as long as its covered in plenty of water its all good the one story happened during a teenage party when ppl became preoccupied with other things also the longer it cooks the more we like it its awesome for dipping apples
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lenachka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This is good but it is not caramel, it's dulce de leche. You can also cook it in the pressure cooker in about 25 minutes instead of three hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
As some reviewers said it's not quite a pure caramel taste but it is super yummy. I did a bit of research and decided to try it in my crockpot. I just covered it with water and set the crockpot to low for 8 hours. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
I wouldn't want to use this as a caramel sauce for something like ice cream. However, my mother used to make this for another purpose. She would take vanilla wafers and spoon a little of the sauce over each one and then dip the top in shredded coconut. It makes fabulous cookies that are very impressive for something like a shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States