Caramel Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
You can also do this in the microwave. Just pour the milk into a high-sided glass bowl, cover loosely with plastic wrap and cook on medium for 2 minutes, stir. Continue cooking, stirring every 2 minutes, for about 10-15 minutes. If you want it thicker, cook it longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This is the perfect way to make caramel, and is a great base for caramel pie (ala O'Charley's); however, follow the instructions carefully and, ideally, let your can cool for an hour before opening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debruttenbur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hendersonville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
This is so easy and good. I made a couple of cans in the crock pot, as I read was possible from another reviewer. I filled the CP with water, set it to low, and ignored it all day. About 9 or 10 hours later I turned off the CP and let the water cool naturally. After it cooled and I removed the cans & opened them, both were filled with yummy "dulce de leche" style caramel. It is now in my refrigerator, waiting for it's next use. I saw the caramel apple dipping sauce they sell in the stores, and I vowed to never buy that again! I'm so excited to have this easy, yummy recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
WARNING! Superb carmel pudding/sauce BUT do set your timer--and be sure to have a deep pot with plenty of water to cover the can. I put the kids to bed, (husband was out of town), put the sweetened condensed milk in a pot covered with water and settled down with a good book. I was lost in time until an explosion in the kitchen reminded me of what I was cooking. The can had exploded sending pudding ALL over the kitchen. I scrubbed the kitchen--floor to ceiling until 2 am. Set a timer if you cook this delicious treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Made this to go on my cheesecake today & it is so easy. Fantastic finish, great flavor and now I can't keep my husband out of it. Almost too easy to be true. The same caramel flavor that I remember as a kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I've done this several times and it makes a great tasting, thick caramel sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
A tip ! if the sauce turns out too thick, add whipping cream little at a time, until it reaches desired consistancy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
I also boil the cans and just watch to make sure the water level doesn't go below the can, but even if it does, it's ok, I've had it go below the can and was still fine. I like to use it for making turtles during the holidays. Use a small ice cream scoop or cookie scooper, roll in chopped pecons and then shape into balls. Refriderate or freeze for a couple hours then dip in melted chocolate, they are so good and will amaze people when you tell them what they're made of. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Made this last night. Was very rich and tasted good. Was on the thick side so I added a little extra milk to thin it down. Hubby liked it to. A little time consuming. Wish it could be done in less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Do NOT do this!! the can exploaded!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Bread Pudding with Caramel Rum Sauce

Discover the simple secret to surprisingly easy pumpkin bread pudding.

Salted Caramel Sauce

See how to make the world’s best topping for ice cream!

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States