Caramel Pretzel Nut Popcorn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I was looking for something good to much on and this recipe fit the bill. I only had white sugar in the pantry so that is what I used. Be careful not to overcook, I burned the sugar in my first attempt, I had boiled it too long. In my second try I got the sugar to 230 degrees and removed it from the heat. I got a softer, chewier caramel that I like. Thanks for the recipe! I haven't stopped eating it yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Amery, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2007
This treat is addicting beware I could not stop eating it. I halved the batch and it still made alot. We are going to try adding M&M's and/or raisins next time. It is best the day of so make it when you have lots of people around to help you eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by A.B. Sitzman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I made this today for Christmas gift baskets. It made a lot of treats and turned out great. I did bake it on parchment lined cookie sheets for a few minutes after pouring on the carmel. I will make it again, but next time I think I will put 1/2 of the popcorn mixture on the bottom of the bag, then half of the carmel, half popcorn, half carmel. I think it will probably mix easier that way. I will also use the suggestion of spraying the bag with pam to avoid too much stickage. No loss - I just ate the stuck stuff while backing the rest of the batch... Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greenfield, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
Made this today, exactly as written, will not be making again as the caramel mixture sticks to your teeth. I think it has too much popcorn for the amount of caramel mixture, all my peanuts seemed to end up on the bottom of the bowl instead of being "stuck" to everything else. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2006
I made this recipe last night. Some of the reviews mentioned how the popcorn stuck to the paper bag. I solved that problem by lightly spraying the inside of the bag with Pam. It worked like a dream. I baked it at 250 degrees for 1 hour stirring every 15 minutes. I thought it was still going to be kind of mushy, but today it's nice a crisp. Very good flavor. I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Maenpa-Pavey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kokomo, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GOMELA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
This was sooo good. I scaled the recipe down to 12 servings and it still made a ton! I boiled the sugar mixture for 8 minutes to make sure the candy hardened really well. It turned out great. The only thing I will do differently next time is stir the mixture with a wooden spoon because my plastic spoon melted right into the mixture and I had to start over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GOMELA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2006
What a yummy treat...Even better then crunch and munch and cracker jacks. I only had 2 cups peanuts so I threw in 2 cups almonds. Next time I'll try cashews. Soo good. I did skip the paperbag method and just mixed in a large stock pot and put into two aluminum lasagna pans and baked for the 10 minutes. Absolutely delicious. Soak your dishes in warm soapy water for 15 min for easy clean-up. This recipe makes a ton so you might want to half it. Once you start eating-you wont stop. The salty pretzel adds such a nice twist to this caramel popcorn treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brewster, New York, USA
Living In: Dover, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2006
This caramel is perfect! I did a half batch, using one bag of low-fat butter-flavored microwave popcorn. I broke the pretzels by hand, which was time-consuming (next time, I'll stick the pretzel sticks in a baggie and beat them with something :), and I used regular salted peanuts. I also used salted butter (next time, I'll use 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup margarine to see how it works!). The caramel mixture foamed up after I added the vanilla, not the baking soda. I think it was the alcohol in my fake vanilla flavoring. :) I put it all in a huge brown bag and had the same problem other reviewers had: the caramel pools on the bottom. So I madly stirred it and dumped it out on two baking sheets to cool. Peeling the caramel-covered peanuts (the nuts sunk to the bottom) out of the bag was a hassle, but yummy! I did not need to put it in the oven, letting it cool on the cookie sheets was perfect for us. My three-year old loves it. Thanks, Rookieswife. :) You rock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2006
I feel like giving this recipe 41/2 stars. My husband didn't care for it much, I loved it. Made only 1/4th of the recipe to see how it turns out. The caramel ended up being more than mixture. Baked it in the oven for 12 mins. One needs to be patient, I kept tasting it when it didn't even get crisp. I liked it, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
I made this recipe for a holiday party and gave the leftovers to the host. Another person in their family is anti-sweets and gave the leftovers back to us. The host actually called and asked us to return the leftovers because it was the best he's ever tasted! You know a recipe is good when someone is willing to humiliate themselves to get more! Also, I drizzled melted chocolate into the mix. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Caramel Snack Mix

This irresistible snack stars crispy cereal, nuts, and a simple caramel coating.

Caramel Popcorn

Make this simple recipe for festive caramel popcorn.

Ashley & Whitney's Popcorn & Pretzel Snack Mix

Toss your favorite snack foods with melted chocolate and bake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States